Parliament Website

VAT On School-Specific Uniforms

EDM number 1118 in 2007-08, proposed by Nigel Evans on 05/03/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Schools and Taxation.

That this House notes that the Schoolwear Association is the trade body representing the entire school-specific uniform sector; further notes that the members of the Schoolwear Association supply products to 75 per cent. of UK schools; acknowledges that the Schoolwear Association's research has identified the various benefits that school-specific school uniforms bring, including a sense of collective identity, pride in appearance, improved behaviour and greater security; recognises that VAT is exempt only on those uniform sizes deemed appropriate for children aged 13 years and younger; realises that with an estimated 33 per cent. of all 11 to 15 year olds currently overweight or obese, the status quo ignores legitimate differences in size whilst also disadvantaging those from the lower socio-economic groups who suffer the highest incidence of weight problems; further notes that by raising the age of compulsory education to 18 years, families will be forced to pay even more VAT; supports the Schoolwear Association's Untax our Teens campaign, which aims to improve the affordability of school uniforms; further notes that this would collectively save parents around £4 million each year; and calls on the Government to reduce the rate of VAT on upper body, badged items of uniform to five per cent., in line with the Schoolwear Association's proposals.

This motion has been signed by a total of 64 MPs.

Nigel Evans05/03/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeProposed
Lembit 05/03/2008MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Greg Pope05/03/2008HyndburnLabourSeconded
Bob Russell05/03/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Spink05/03/2008Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley05/03/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Ann Winterton06/03/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
Jo Swinson06/03/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil06/03/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Nicholas Winterton06/03/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Andrew George06/03/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew06/03/2008StroudLabourSigned
John Horam06/03/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Colin Challen07/03/2008Morley and RothwellLabourSigned
Philip Davies07/03/2008ShipleyConservativeSigned
Lorely Burt07/03/2008SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming07/03/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray07/03/2008North WiltshireConservativeSigned
George Galloway07/03/2008Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Harry Cohen07/03/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Graham Brady07/03/2008Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Nick Harvey07/03/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Burgon10/03/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Ann Cryer10/03/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/03/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Don Touhig10/03/2008IslwynLabourSigned
Robert Wareing10/03/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mark Hunter10/03/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies11/03/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Mark Williams11/03/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Betts11/03/2008Sheffield, AttercliffeLabourSigned
John Leech11/03/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes11/03/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh12/03/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell12/03/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Patrick Mercer12/03/2008NewarkConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson12/03/2008Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
John Bercow12/03/2008BuckinghamConservativeSigned
David Borrow12/03/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Paddy Tipping12/03/2008SherwoodLabourSigned
Stephen Williams12/03/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson13/03/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Anthony D Wright14/03/2008Great YarmouthLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser18/03/2008DoverLabourSigned
David Taylor18/03/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Douglas Carswell18/03/2008HarwichConservativeSigned
Michael Jabez Foster25/03/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Mark Durkan25/03/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Eric Illsley25/03/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Alan Simpson26/03/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland26/03/2008Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell27/03/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed01/04/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Matthew Taylor01/04/2008Truro and St AustellLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Reed02/04/2008LoughboroughLabourSigned
Martin Horwood02/04/2008CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon21/04/2008North DownUUPSigned
William McCrea21/04/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Sammy Wilson21/04/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
Richard Younger-Ross21/04/2008TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds23/04/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Iris Robinson29/04/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
Jeremy Browne12/05/2008TauntonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mohammad Sarwar19/05/2008Glasgow CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.