Parliament Website

Royal Mail Rnli Lifeboat Stamps

EDM number 1181 in 2007-08, proposed by Angus MacNeil on 12/03/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Postal services and Shipping.

That this House congratulates the Royal Mail on the launch of six commemorative stamps featuring the rescue work of RNLI lifeboats and Coastguard helicopters and particularly praises the inclusion of the Barra Island Lifeboat on the first class stamp; notes poignantly that the launch of the stamps, coincidentally is the day after the funeral of a former Barra lifeboat coxswain, Iain (John ) Allan MacNeil, who on 18th November 1979 was coxswain of the Barnet Class Lifeboat which capsized at 3:46 am but which righted successfully due to an RNLI inflatable balloon modification which followed earlier lifeboat losses; further notes that two hours earlier on the same night the Islay lifeboat also capsized and righted itself in what were described as `diabolical' 30ft to 60 ft seas; and applauds the Royal Mail for making such a public tribute to the work of the RNLI volunteers who manifestly can face extreme dangers in their calling.

This motion has been signed by a total of 68 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Angus MacNeil12/03/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartyProposed
Alex Salmond12/03/2008Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySeconded
Alistair Carmichael12/03/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Rosemary McKenna12/03/2008Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastLabourSeconded
Greg Hands12/03/2008Hammersmith and FulhamConservativeSeconded
David Heath12/03/2008Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nigel Evans12/03/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Andrew George12/03/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed13/03/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Winterton13/03/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley13/03/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock13/03/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore13/03/2008HendonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones13/03/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Paul Holmes13/03/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Iddon17/03/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Betty Williams17/03/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin18/03/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Hunter18/03/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams18/03/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn18/03/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Paul Keetch18/03/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh18/03/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope19/03/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty19/03/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea19/03/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell19/03/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton19/03/2008GowerLabourSigned
David Drew19/03/2008StroudLabourSigned
John Battle19/03/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
David Borrow19/03/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Robert Wareing19/03/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Katy Clark19/03/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
David Crausby20/03/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ann Cryer20/03/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Clive Efford20/03/2008ElthamLabourSigned
Phil Willis20/03/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell20/03/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell20/03/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/03/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell20/03/2008RomfordConservativeSigned
Doug Naysmith20/03/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Joan Humble25/03/2008Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Eric Illsley25/03/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster25/03/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Annette Brooke26/03/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson26/03/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech26/03/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes26/03/2008North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson26/03/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey27/03/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins27/03/2008TamworthLabourSigned
David Hamilton01/04/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Adam Price02/04/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Stewart Hosie02/04/2008Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart02/04/2008Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir02/04/2008AngusScottish National PartySigned
Janet Dean02/04/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Angus Robertson02/04/2008MorayScottish National PartySigned
Andy Reed02/04/2008LoughboroughLabourSigned
Lady Hermon21/04/2008North DownUUPSigned
Vincent Cable21/04/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson22/04/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds23/04/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Julian Lewis24/04/2008New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Malcolm Bruce30/04/2008GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sammy Wilson20/05/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
John MacDougallUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.