Parliament Website

Death Penalty In Pakistan

EDM number 1250 in 2007-08, proposed by John McDonnell on 20/03/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Asia, Crime and Human rights.

That this House notes with concern that a man arrested by Pakistani authorities as Manjit Singh has been sentenced to be executed at the end of April 2008; notes that the man's family claim he is a victim of mistaken identity, and that his name is Sarabjit Singh; further notes that he was arrested in 1990 on charges of having worked for Indian intelligence, but has since been convicted of involvement in lethal bomb attacks in 1990; and calls on the Prime Minister both to make representations to the President of Pakistan to use his powers under Article 45 of the Constitution to commute the death sentence, and further to encourage Pakistan to abolish the death penalty.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

John McDonnell20/03/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins20/03/2008Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Katy Clark20/03/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore25/03/2008HendonLabourSeconded
David Drew25/03/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley25/03/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn25/03/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan25/03/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Roger Williams25/03/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn25/03/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Durkan25/03/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Lepper25/03/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Lynne Jones25/03/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Brian Iddon25/03/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders25/03/2008TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson26/03/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Mark Hunter26/03/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis26/03/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock26/03/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin26/03/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell26/03/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale26/03/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell26/03/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Simpson26/03/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice26/03/2008PendleLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/03/2008GowerLabourSigned
Nick Harvey27/03/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson27/03/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty27/03/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael27/03/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma31/03/2008Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne01/04/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Dai Davies01/04/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Leech01/04/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing01/04/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Bob Russell01/04/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean02/04/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Jo Swinson02/04/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris03/04/2008Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon21/04/2008North DownUUPSigned
David Wilshire21/04/2008SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Jim Devine21/04/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Marsha Singh22/04/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington24/04/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay29/04/2008ThurrockLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.