Parliament Website


EDM number 1320 in 2007-08, proposed by Clive Efford on 02/04/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Equality, Political parties and Sexual offences.

That this House congratulates the Evening Standard newspaper on its work with Searchlight, the anti-Nazi campaign organisation, in exposing the author of the far-right web blog `Sir John Bull' as BNP member Nick Eriksen; believes that every decent person will be alarmed that Nick Eriksen is the BNP's second-highest candidate on its list for the Greater London Assembly elections on 1st May and their London organiser; condemns Mr Eriksen's comments made on 24th August 2007: `I've never understood why so many men have allowed themselves to be brainwashed by the feminazi myth machine into believing that rape is such a serious crime ... Rape is simply sex. Women enjoy sex, so rape cannot be such a terrible physical ordeal.' and `To suggest that rape, when conducted without violence, is a serious crime is like suggesting that forcefeeding a woman chocolate cake is a heinous offence. A woman would be more inconvenienced by having her handbag snatched'; further condemns his comment on 5th November 2005, in an item entitled Give her a slap!, where he stated: `Some women are like gongs - they need to be struck regularly,' and on 8th November, when he claimed that `the vast majority of domestic [assaults] are initiated by the woman,'; is appalled by Mr Eriksen's attempts to defend his views by stating `I was trying to make the point that there are two kinds of rape'; and congratulates the Evening Standard for exposing Mr Eriksen's repugnant views to the people of London.

This motion has been signed by a total of 69 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Clive Efford02/04/2008ElthamLabourProposed
Karen Buck02/04/2008Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSeconded
Jon Cruddas02/04/2008DagenhamLabourSeconded
Frank Dobson02/04/2008Holborn and St PancrasLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore02/04/2008HendonLabourSeconded
Virendra Sharma02/04/2008Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Jim Dowd02/04/2008Lewisham WestLabourSigned
Lyn Brown02/04/2008West HamLabourSigned
Rudi Vis02/04/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Diane Abbott02/04/2008Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner02/04/2008Brent NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty02/04/2008Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Colin Burgon02/04/2008ElmetLabourSigned
John McDonnell02/04/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Linton02/04/2008BatterseaLabourSigned
Alan Keen02/04/2008Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Stephen Pound02/04/2008Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Evan Harris03/04/2008Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams03/04/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark03/04/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Betty Williams03/04/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley03/04/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Ian Gibson03/04/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
David Drew03/04/2008StroudLabourSigned
Edward Davey03/04/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton03/04/2008GowerLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara03/04/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones03/04/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Simon Hughes03/04/2008North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes03/04/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh03/04/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable21/04/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Devine21/04/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Mark Hunter21/04/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing21/04/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock21/04/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Jabez Foster21/04/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/04/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan21/04/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/04/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Iddon21/04/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty21/04/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell21/04/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
David Simpson22/04/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Marsha Singh22/04/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Eric Illsley22/04/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne22/04/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Harry Cohen22/04/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil22/04/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
William McCrea23/04/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
John Leech23/04/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson23/04/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott24/04/2008Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington24/04/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Hamilton24/04/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Janet Dean24/04/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis28/04/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff28/04/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Graham Stringer28/04/2008Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Mark Williams28/04/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson29/04/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins30/04/2008TamworthLabourSigned
David Crausby14/05/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Heyes15/05/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar19/05/2008Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson02/06/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin24/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Chris BryantUnknownWithdrawn
Jon TrickettUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.