Parliament Website

Discrimination Against Lesbian And Gay People

EDM number 1403 in 2007-08, proposed by Diane Abbott on 23/04/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Equality and Schools.

That this House recognises that despite equality legislation, lesbian and gay people are still subject to discrimination and abuse on account of their sexuality in the United Kingdom; notes the recent research by Stonewall that found that nearly one in five lesbian and gay people has experienced homophobic bullying in the workplace during the last five years and suggests that homophobic bullying in schools is on the increase; further notes that the research found that many lesbian and gay people felt they were not treated the same as heterosexual people in politics, education, the justice system, and in health and social care; and calls on the Government to take steps to tackle the continuing problem of homophobic bullying and to introduce the same duty on public bodies to promote equality of service for gay people that already exists for ethnicity, gender and disability.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Diane Abbott23/04/2008Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley23/04/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George23/04/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Hemming24/04/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale24/04/2008MansfieldLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones24/04/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
David Drew24/04/2008StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore24/04/2008HendonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson24/04/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Paul Holmes24/04/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/04/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Keith Vaz25/04/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
Jim Devine25/04/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen28/04/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma28/04/2008Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Stephen Williams28/04/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark28/04/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Desmond Turner28/04/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Mike Hancock28/04/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson28/04/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Francis28/04/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer28/04/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn28/04/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay28/04/2008ThurrockLabourSigned
Colin Breed29/04/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech29/04/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis29/04/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Roger Berry29/04/2008KingswoodLabourSigned
Martin Caton29/04/2008GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell29/04/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ken Purchase29/04/2008Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Mark Durkan29/04/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Flynn30/04/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell01/05/2008North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington01/05/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell06/05/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jo Swinson06/05/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty07/05/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Roger Williams08/05/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean08/05/2008BurtonLabourSigned
John Pugh08/05/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Susan Kramer12/05/2008Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
David Borrow13/05/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Adam Price15/05/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
David Heyes15/05/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar19/05/2008Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard19/05/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Simon Hughes20/05/2008North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Efford20/05/2008ElthamLabourSigned
Hywel Williams20/05/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Julie Morgan02/06/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
John Austin30/06/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Martin Salter18/11/2008Reading WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.