Parliament Website

Farmers In The Developing World

EDM number 1536 in 2007-08, proposed by Diane Abbott on 12/05/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Agriculture, Farmers, Incomes and poverty and International development.

That this House is concerned about the situation of farmers in the developing world; recognises that the majority of people living in absolute poverty live on small farms; further recognises that continuing rural poverty in the developing world contributes greatly to overall levels of global poverty and hunger; and calls on the Department for International Development to focus on the needs of farmers in the developing world in this year's review of its agriculture policy, increase the level of aid that targets the needs of the poorest farmers and support programmes that aim to enable farmers to grow more food to feed their families and improve their lives.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Diane Abbott12/05/2008Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Mark Durkan12/05/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Nigel Evans12/05/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley12/05/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew Dismore13/05/2008HendonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale13/05/2008MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn13/05/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Drew13/05/2008StroudLabourSigned
Andrew George13/05/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray13/05/2008North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton13/05/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
David Simpson14/05/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Rudi Vis14/05/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock14/05/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby14/05/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/05/2008GowerLabourSigned
Peter Luff14/05/2008Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Alan Simpson14/05/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Adam Price15/05/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Glenda Jackson15/05/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Ian Gibson15/05/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/05/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/05/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster16/05/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar19/05/2008Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Marsha Singh19/05/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/05/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/05/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
John Battle19/05/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Betty Williams19/05/2008ConwyLabourSigned
John Leech20/05/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor20/05/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Janet Dean20/05/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell20/05/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Eric Illsley20/05/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady21/05/2008South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Hywel Francis21/05/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Julie Morgan02/06/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon02/06/2008North DownUUPSigned
Doug Naysmith02/06/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Vincent Cable02/06/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington02/06/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins03/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
William McCrea17/06/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell25/06/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.