Parliament Website

UK Policy On Relations With Zimbabwe

EDM number 1656 in 2007-08, proposed by Harry Cohen on 02/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of International politics and government, United Nations, EU external relations and Zimbabwe.

That this House condemns the attendance of Robert Mugabe at the United Nations conference on food security in Rome; notes that although there is a European Union travel ban upon him, there is a loophole in connection with a United Nations event; considers that consistency in dealing with the Mugabe regime is essential and that the UK has adopted a policy of Ministers not attending where Mugabe and his Ministers are present; further notes that the Prime Minister himself, last year, boycotted an EU-African Summit because Mugabe had been invited to attend; is concerned therefore that the Secretary of State for International Development is attending the Rome Conference; further notes that Mugabe and his team will ruthlessly use such official presence at this conference as part of the campaign in the forthcoming crucial second round election in Zimbabwe; and therefore calls on the UK not to attend the Rome Conference.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Harry Cohen02/06/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourProposed
Bob Russell02/06/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George02/06/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Colin Breed03/06/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn03/06/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
John Leech03/06/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd03/06/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Durkan03/06/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Gibson03/06/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton03/06/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Mark Hunter03/06/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Kilfoyle04/06/2008Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams04/06/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Drew04/06/2008StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore04/06/2008HendonLabourSigned
Janet Dean04/06/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer04/06/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell04/06/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Keetch04/06/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans06/06/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock09/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale09/06/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Marsha Singh10/06/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Annette Brooke10/06/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson11/06/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Elliot Morley11/06/2008ScunthorpeLabourSigned
David Hamilton11/06/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
David Borrow11/06/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Phil Willis11/06/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Adam Price12/06/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Brian Jenkins12/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Paul Rowen16/06/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea17/06/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
John Pugh18/06/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson18/06/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley26/06/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Heyes30/06/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff30/06/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Jim Devine01/07/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Howarth02/07/2008CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.