Parliament Website

Open Windrow Composting

EDM number 1670 in 2007-08, proposed by Michael Clapham on 02/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Environmental protection, Pollution and Waste management.

That this House is concerned about the increase in open windrow composting sites and the dangers they pose to public health from the release of millions of pathogens into the air and water courses; calls for more research by the Environment Agency and the Health and Safety Executive on bio-aerosol dispersion at varying wind speeds and the safe distances of residences from such sites; notes that the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) has requested improved bio-aerosol risk assessments to facilitate updated guidance for applicants and further research on dose response is underway; and considers that DEFRA should advise all local authorities that consideration of new applications be deferred until the further research is completed.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Michael Clapham02/06/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourProposed
Lindsay Hoyle02/06/2008ChorleyLabourSeconded
David Hamilton02/06/2008MidlothianLabourSeconded
Jim Sheridan02/06/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Nick Ainger02/06/2008Carmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabourSeconded
David Crausby02/06/2008Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Andrew MacKinlay02/06/2008ThurrockLabourSigned
Desmond Turner02/06/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
David Simpson03/06/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner03/06/2008BolsoverLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd03/06/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Caton03/06/2008GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/06/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty04/06/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Denis Murphy04/06/2008WansbeckLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell04/06/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer04/06/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Hywel Francis04/06/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams04/06/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Drew05/06/2008StroudLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans06/06/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
David Anderson06/06/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams09/06/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis11/06/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Rowen16/06/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen23/06/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ian Cawsey25/06/2008Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Michael Connarty25/06/2008Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Eric Illsley26/06/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John Austin30/06/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Jim Devine01/07/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Clive Efford07/07/2008ElthamLabourSigned
John Battle07/07/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Ian Stewart07/07/2008EcclesLabourSigned
Ann McKechinUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.