Parliament Website

Playing Fields

EDM number 1706 in 2007-08, proposed by Don Foster on 05/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Planning, Schools and Sports.

That this House recognises the importance of access to playing fields in helping to tackle rising levels of obesity, strengthen communities and cut crime; notes with concern that the nation's playing fields are still being sold off at an alarming rate; further notes that, every nine days, plans to build over a playing field are accepted even though Sport England warns that this will have a negative impact on local sporting provision; condemns the continued sell-off of smaller playing fields, the size of half a football pitch, at a rate of almost one a day, despite the Government's promise made in 2002 to introduce protection for them; is deeply concerned that there is currently a loophole in the law that allows landowners to deliberately prevent people using a playing field for five years and then sell it off without proper consultation; and, consequently, calls on the Government to close this loophole and honour its promise to give smaller fields the same protection as larger ones to ensure that the UK's playing fields are protected for generations to come.

This motion has been signed by a total of 59 MPs.

Don Foster05/06/2008BathLiberal DemocratProposed
Dan Rogerson05/06/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
Matthew Taylor05/06/2008Truro and St AustellLiberal DemocratSeconded
Sandra Gidley05/06/2008RomseyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Annette Brooke05/06/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George05/06/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell05/06/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones06/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore06/06/2008HendonLabourSigned
Nigel Evans06/06/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams06/06/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock09/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton09/06/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Alan Meale09/06/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/06/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Bob Spink09/06/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned
Adrian Sanders09/06/2008TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes10/06/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen10/06/2008Ynys MLabourSigned
Colin Breed10/06/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew10/06/2008StroudLabourSigned
Keith Vaz10/06/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
John Leech10/06/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter10/06/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies10/06/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis11/06/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Robert Wareing11/06/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Phil Willis11/06/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Philip Davies11/06/2008ShipleyConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/06/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable11/06/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd11/06/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley11/06/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins12/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Mark Williams13/06/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen16/06/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/06/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton17/06/2008GowerLabourSigned
John Pugh18/06/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Karen Buck18/06/2008Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey19/06/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer20/06/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell23/06/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kate Hoey24/06/2008VauxhallLabourSigned
David Hamilton25/06/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Eric Illsley26/06/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael26/06/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff30/06/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
John Austin30/06/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
David Crausby02/07/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland03/07/2008Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming08/07/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson15/07/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett04/11/2008Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Reed06/11/2008LoughboroughLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.