Parliament Website

150th Anniversary Of The Death Of Dr John Snow

EDM number 1800 in 2007-08, proposed by Brian Iddon on 16/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Medicine and Science.

That this House commemorates the 150th anniversary on 16th June 2008 of the death of the great Victorian, Dr John Snow, who was a pioneer of both epidemiology and anaesthesiology and whose great contribution to human and public health is best exemplified by his breakthrough discovery, decisively demonstrated during the 1854 cholera outbreak in London, that cholera was spread in particular through contaminated water; notes that a special Royal Society of Chemistry National Chemical Landmark blue plaque was unveiled today by the Secretary of State for Health, Rt Hon Alan Johnson, MP, at the John Snow Public House which is situated by the very water pump in Broadwick Street, Soho, that John Snow identified as the source of the cholera outbreak, and whose handle he removed to prove his theory by forcing people to use other uncontaminated water pumps further away; notes that those taking part in today's unveiling ceremony included Professor Jim Feast, President of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Jeremy Pelczer, Chair of the charity WaterAid, and Dr Ros Stanwell-Smith of the John Snow Society; notes further the organisational contributions of Pauline Meakins, Brian Emsley, Richard Porte, Jonathan Edwards, Sheena Elliott, and the publicans Nick and Christine Taylor; and applauds the Royal Society of Chemistry for its role in highlighting, by means of the Chemical Landmark programme, the crucial contributions of science to the history of the United Kingdom.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Brian Iddon16/06/2008Bolton South EastLabourProposed
Mark Lancaster16/06/2008North East Milton KeynesConservativeSeconded
Phil Willis16/06/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ian Gibson16/06/2008Norwich NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Spink16/06/2008Castle PointUKIPSeconded
Peter Bottomley16/06/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Stephen Williams17/06/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie17/06/2008Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter17/06/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Waterson17/06/2008EastbourneConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis17/06/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Taylor17/06/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore17/06/2008HendonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones17/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/06/2008GowerLabourSigned
Robert Key17/06/2008SalisburyConservativeSigned
Desmond Turner17/06/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Judy Mallaber18/06/2008Amber ValleyLabourSigned
John Leech18/06/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham18/06/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/06/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden18/06/2008Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins18/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle18/06/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Paul Holmes18/06/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Keith Vaz19/06/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
Clive Efford19/06/2008ElthamLabourSigned
Janet Dean19/06/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Vincent Cable19/06/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/06/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/06/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer20/06/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin23/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice24/06/2008PendleLabourSigned
Janet Anderson24/06/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Robert Wareing24/06/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Betty Williams24/06/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon25/06/2008North DownUUPSigned
John Battle25/06/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis25/06/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith25/06/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Greg Pope26/06/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Eric Illsley26/06/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster30/06/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Jim Devine01/07/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson02/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Ken Purchase03/07/2008Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.