Parliament Website

Cost Of Telephone Calls For Prisoners

EDM number 1891 in 2007-08, proposed by Linda Riordan on 25/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Prisons and Telecommunications.

That this House welcomes the super-complaint on the high cost of telephone calls for prisoners lodged with Ofcom by the national consumer councils of England, Scotland and Wales and supported by the Prison Reform Trust; is concerned that the cost of a 30-minute call from a prison to a landline is over seven times more expensive than the equivalent call from a public payphone; is further concerned at the persistently high cost of telephone calls for prisoners, at a time when costs for other basic telephone services have fallen by 60 per cent.; notes that prisoners are six times less likely to reoffend if they have a supportive family network to return to when they come out, and that almost half of people in prison lose contact with their families during their sentence; and calls on the Government to ensure that current and future contracts for providing telephone services for prisoners require providers to charge fair prices.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Linda Riordan25/06/2008HalifaxLabourProposed
David Heath25/06/2008Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ann Cryer25/06/2008KeighleyLabourSeconded
John McDonnell25/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Katy Clark25/06/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Neil Gerrard25/06/2008WalthamstowLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins25/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley25/06/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Taylor26/06/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
David Anderson26/06/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones26/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Eric Illsley26/06/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders30/06/2008TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink30/06/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn30/06/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock30/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty01/07/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Devine01/07/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Norman Baker01/07/2008LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Amess01/07/2008Southend WestConservativeSigned
David Drew01/07/2008StroudLabourSigned
Harry Cohen01/07/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Martin Caton01/07/2008GowerLabourSigned
Colin Breed01/07/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Doug Naysmith01/07/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Chris Mullin01/07/2008Sunderland SouthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson02/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Dai Davies02/07/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Stephen Williams02/07/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt02/07/2008SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis02/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham02/07/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Alan Meale02/07/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd02/07/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Evan Harris02/07/2008Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan02/07/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Julie Morgan03/07/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Clare Short03/07/2008Birmingham, LadywoodIndependent LabourSigned
Brian Jenkins03/07/2008TamworthLabourSigned
John Battle07/07/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Phil Willis07/07/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Walley07/07/2008Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Keith Vaz07/07/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
Frank Cook07/07/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable07/07/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean09/07/2008BurtonLabourSigned
John Leech09/07/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott09/07/2008Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes14/07/2008North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner14/07/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara15/07/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Tom Brake05/11/2008Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.