Parliament Website

Retention Of Insurance Records And Compensation Claims

EDM number 1902 in 2007-08, proposed by Michael Connarty on 25/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Financial services and Personal injury.

That this House is alarmed at the Government's proposed repeal of Regulation 4(4) of the Employers' Liability (Compulsory Insurance) Regulation 1998; highlights that this move has been met with widespread industry opposition; acknowledges that this repeal will result in employers no longer having to keep insurance records for 40 years; believes this will impact negatively on highly vulnerable people, leaving them without the means to claim compensation; is especially concerned about the effect this will have on asbestos victims as it takes 30 to 40 years for asbestos to develop and, without sufficient insurance records, it will be nearly impossible to claim compensation; and calls upon the Government to reconsider repealing the regulations and instead to improve the enforcement of them through harsher penalties for employers who do not conform to them.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Michael Connarty25/06/2008Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins26/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSeconded
David Anderson26/06/2008BlaydonLabourSeconded
David Taylor26/06/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Eric Illsley26/06/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones26/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn30/06/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Gibson30/06/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley30/06/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Betty Williams30/06/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Katy Clark01/07/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim Devine01/07/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Robert Wareing01/07/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew01/07/2008StroudLabourSigned
Martin Caton01/07/2008GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell01/07/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson01/07/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Paul Holmes01/07/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer01/07/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis02/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mark Durkan02/07/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Clapham02/07/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Colin Burgon02/07/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Alan Meale02/07/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd02/07/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson02/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins03/07/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard07/07/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/07/2008BurtonLabourSigned
John Leech09/07/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell14/07/2008PudseyLabourSigned
John Battle17/07/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Nick Harvey21/07/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin06/10/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis06/10/2008AberavonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.