Parliament Website

Regional Select Committees

EDM number 2020 in 2007-08, proposed by David Heath on 10/07/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Devolution, House of Commons and Parliamentary procedure.

That this House notes the proposals for regional select committees in the third report of the Select Committee on Modernisation entitled Regional Accountability; further notes that were these proposals to be adopted by the House the South West Region would have a select committee grossly disproportionate to the political composition of the region, that some counties would not be represented at all, and that hon. Members representing constituencies outside the region would be required to be members of the committee; further notes that these unsatisfactory proposals were passed only on the casting vote of the Chairman; and calls on the Modernisation Select Committee to reconsider its proposals.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

David Heath10/07/2008Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratProposed
Stephen Williams10/07/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock14/07/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Adrian Sanders14/07/2008TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Laws15/07/2008YeovilLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Browne15/07/2008TauntonLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton15/07/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Graham Stringer15/07/2008Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/07/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Colin Breed16/07/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech16/07/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming17/07/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson17/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Mark Hunter21/07/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Webb21/07/2008NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell21/07/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley21/07/2008RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell21/07/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nick Harvey21/07/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope21/07/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Martin Horwood22/07/2008CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross06/10/2008TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cousins07/10/2008Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Janet Anderson07/10/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson11/11/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke12/11/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.