Parliament Website

Mobile Roaming Charges

EDM number 2091 in 2007-08, proposed by John Robertson on 17/07/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Consumers and Telecommunications.

That this House is concerned that many UK citizens may return from holidays abroad only to endure bill shock when they open their mobile telephone bill; believes that this will be particularly severe if they have used data roaming to access internet or text services whilst abroad; notes that mobile data usage is increasing in the UK but that consumers may not be fully aware of the roaming charges when abroad; welcomes the European Commission's review of data roaming charges; calls on mobile telephone companies to reduce the rates they charge for roaming; and further calls on Ofcom to ensure that wholesale prices for data roaming are reduced from an average 3.00 euro per megabyte of mobile data to 0.25 cent per megabyte.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

John Robertson17/07/2008Glasgow North WestLabourProposed
Jim Sheridan17/07/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley17/07/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Michael Jabez Foster21/07/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSeconded
Alan Meale21/07/2008MansfieldLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis21/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer21/07/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Lee Scott21/07/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSigned
David Taylor21/07/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/07/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard21/07/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore21/07/2008HendonLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/07/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones21/07/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/07/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes21/07/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey21/07/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope21/07/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden22/07/2008Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Mark Hunter22/07/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams22/07/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech22/07/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams22/07/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Janet Anderson22/07/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
David Drew22/07/2008StroudLabourSigned
Janet Dean22/07/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn22/07/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty22/07/2008Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Martin Caton22/07/2008GowerLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins22/07/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson22/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Frank Cook06/10/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan06/10/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Godsiff06/10/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Jo Swinson06/10/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell07/10/2008PudseyLabourSigned
David Crausby08/10/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Hemming14/10/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley16/10/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Hamilton22/10/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Paul Rowen06/11/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.