Parliament Website

Mesothelioma And Nice Appraisal Procedure

EDM number 221 in 2007-08, proposed by Michael Clapham on 13/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health finance and Industrial health and safety.

That this House recognises that since November 2004 Alimta has been the only licensed treatment for mesothelioma and since the Scottish Medicines Consortium's advice in July 2005 victims of asbestos in Scotland have had access to Alimta; welcomes the July 2007 National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) Final Appraisal Determination (FAD) recommending Alimta; applauds some of the primary care trusts (PCTs) and boards that have made Alimta available in parts of England and Wales since 2005-06, notably in the North West and North East of England; is concerned that Alimta is not yet routinely available in other hot spots like Northern Ireland, Plymouth, Southampton, Eastleigh and London; welcomes the MSO1 clinical trial results comparing unlicensed therapies and notes that these other agents did not result in a significant survival benefit, reinforcing the case for Alimta; regrets that an appeal against the current NICE FAD announced on 24th August will not happen until 23rd November and that the report will not be available until 2008; notes that hundreds of patients in England, Wales and Northern Ireland are denied access to Alimta whilst some PCTs and boards wait for the NICE decision and guidance; urges NICE to review its processes to make it faster and more transparent given that this appraisal has already lasted nearly three years; and calls on the Secretary of State for Health to review how best to remove the post code lottery and to accept, given the industrial nature of mesothelioma, that the Government has a duty for the wellbeing of workers and their families exposed to asbestos through no fault of their own.

This motion has been signed by a total of 77 MPs.

Michael Clapham13/11/2007Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourProposed
Roger Berry13/11/2007KingswoodLabourSeconded
Ian Gibson13/11/2007Norwich NorthLabourSeconded
Linda Gilroy13/11/2007Plymouth, SuttonLabourSeconded
John Battle13/11/2007Leeds WestLabourSeconded
Tony Lloyd13/11/2007Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Ian Davidson13/11/2007Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Linda Riordan13/11/2007HalifaxLabourSigned
Si13/11/2007Swansea EastLabourSigned
Neil Turner13/11/2007WiganLabourSigned
Hywel Francis13/11/2007AberavonLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly13/11/2007Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Mark Durkan13/11/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Frank Doran13/11/2007Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby13/11/2007Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Frank Cook13/11/2007Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Denis Murphy13/11/2007WansbeckLabourSigned
John McDonnell13/11/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley13/11/2007Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Brian Iddon13/11/2007Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle13/11/2007ChorleyLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn13/11/2007JarrowLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner13/11/2007BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan13/11/2007Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
John Cummings14/11/2007EasingtonLabourSigned
Janet Dean14/11/2007BurtonLabourSigned
David Hamilton14/11/2007MidlothianLabourSigned
Mike Hancock14/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Borrow14/11/2007South RibbleLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley14/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Desmond Turner14/11/2007Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
David Taylor14/11/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Derek Conway14/11/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Martin Caton14/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Colin Burgon14/11/2007ElmetLabourSigned
William McCrea14/11/2007South AntrimDUPSigned
Chris McCafferty14/11/2007Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones14/11/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Paul Holmes14/11/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/11/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson15/11/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Helen Southworth15/11/2007Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Colin Breed15/11/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter15/11/2007CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Laxton19/11/2007Derby NorthLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster19/11/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
David Drew19/11/2007StroudLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/11/2007Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd20/11/2007Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Betty Williams20/11/2007ConwyLabourSigned
David Anderson20/11/2007BlaydonLabourSigned
John Leech21/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis21/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/11/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Janet Anderson21/11/2007Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/11/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Greg Pope21/11/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard21/11/2007WalthamstowLabourSigned
John Pugh22/11/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey22/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington22/11/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Heyes29/11/2007Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Bob Spink10/12/2007Castle PointConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds12/12/2007Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Tom Levitt13/12/2007High PeakLabourSigned
John Austin18/12/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey18/12/2007West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Anne Moffat08/01/2008East LothianLabourSigned
Paul Keetch14/01/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy23/01/2008Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams28/01/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Brake26/02/2008Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Patrick Hall26/02/2008BedfordLabourSigned
David Chaytor05/03/2008Bury NorthLabourSigned
Annette Brooke13/11/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Kim Howells20/11/2008PontypriddLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.