Parliament Website

Treatment Of Christians In Iraq

EDM number 224 in 2007-08, proposed by Stephen Pound on 13/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Iraq, Religion and faith communities and Religious discrimination.

That this House is deeply concerned by the mass exodus of Iraqi Christians, which has decimated much of Iraq's ancient Assyrian-Chaldean community; notes that the Assyrian-Chaldeans make up over 95 per cent. of Iraq's Christians and that this exodus has largely been caused by escalating violence against Christians from fanatical extremists, including the bombing of churches and the assassination of Iraqi Christians; further notes that there has been illegal expropriation of Assyrian-Chaldean land and villages in Dohuk province and the Nineveh Plains in northern Iraq; recognises that Iraqi Christians are a major force for moderation, who can act as a significant buffer against the spread of extremism in Iraq; calls on the British and Iraqi governments urgently to encourage and support the creation of a self-governing province in Iraq for the Assyrian-Chaldeans, linked to the central government in Baghdad, situated in and around the Nineveh Plains and including the Talkepeh, Hamdaniya and Bashika districts, and governed by the Assyrian-Chaldeans and other ethnic groups living in that area, as these lands form part of the ancestral homeland of the Assyrian-Chaldeans and are still heavily populated by them; and urges the UK and Iraqi governments to support financially the reconstruction of the region, to end the political marginalisation of the democratically-elected Assyrian-Chaldean representatives in Iraq, to assist the Assyrian-Chaldeans in reclaiming their land and villages in Dohuk province and the Nineveh Plans, and to support financially internally-displaced Assyrian-Chaldeans and the return and resettlement of Assyrian-Chaldean refugees.

This motion has been signed by a total of 76 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Stephen Pound13/11/2007Ealing NorthLabourProposed
Edward Leigh13/11/2007GainsboroughConservativeSeconded
Tim Farron13/11/2007Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan13/11/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Janet Dean14/11/2007BurtonLabourSeconded
Graham Stringer14/11/2007Manchester, BlackleyLabourSeconded
Jeffrey M Donaldson14/11/2007Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Angus MacNeil14/11/2007Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Phil Willis14/11/2007Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor14/11/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley14/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock14/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George14/11/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cummings14/11/2007EasingtonLabourSigned
Derek Conway14/11/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Martin Caton14/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Russell Brown14/11/2007Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle14/11/2007ChorleyLabourSigned
Colin Breed15/11/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter15/11/2007CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams15/11/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir15/11/2007AngusScottish National PartySigned
Andrew Dismore15/11/2007HendonLabourSigned
Evan Harris15/11/2007Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Marsden15/11/2007Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/11/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
Joan Humble19/11/2007Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/11/2007Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Drew19/11/2007StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell19/11/2007Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Karen Buck20/11/2007Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson20/11/2007North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Stewart Hosie20/11/2007Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson20/11/2007BlaydonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma21/11/2007Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Devine21/11/2007LivingstonLabourSigned
John Leech21/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Laura Moffatt21/11/2007CrawleyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis21/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/11/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Don Touhig21/11/2007IslwynLabourSigned
Greg Pope21/11/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/11/2007TamworthLabourSigned
John Pugh22/11/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Reed22/11/2007LoughboroughLabourSigned
John Horam22/11/2007OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Edward Davey22/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie22/11/2007Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams03/12/2007Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Gary Streeter04/12/2007South West DevonConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans06/12/2007Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds12/12/2007Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Marsha Singh13/12/2007Bradford WestLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey18/12/2007West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
David Heyes07/01/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Paul Keetch15/01/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby17/01/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mark Oaten23/01/2008WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith23/01/2008Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Eddie McGrady23/01/2008South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gavin Strang24/01/2008Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Anthony D Wright24/01/2008Great YarmouthLabourSigned
Mark Fisher28/01/2008Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Louise Ellman29/01/2008Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Desmond Turner18/02/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Ann Widdecombe18/02/2008Maidstone and The WealdConservativeSigned
Jon Cruddas18/02/2008DagenhamLabourSigned
John Battle21/02/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Ian Cawsey22/02/2008Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell26/02/2008RomfordConservativeSigned
Christopher Huhne27/02/2008EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley25/04/2008RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Marshall-Andrews09/06/2008MedwayLabourSigned
Paul MurphyUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.