Parliament Website

Two Year Anniversary Of Eastern Sudan Peace Agreement

EDM number 2248 in 2007-08, proposed by David Drew on 15/10/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Africa and International politics and government.

That this House recognises the two year anniversary of the Eastern Sudan Peace Agreement signed between the Sudanese government and the Eastern Front; notes with concern that implementation of the agreement has been slow; points to rising tension between ethnic groups in the region and between the parties to the conflict; stresses that malnutrition rates in the east are in places the highest in Sudan, that 90 per cent. of the population in rural areas do not have access to safe drinking water, and that illiteracy in some localities reaches over 80 per cent.; further recognises that anger over such conditions was a primary cause of violent tension in the region, as in Darfur; and therefore urges the international community to engage more actively in monitoring and supporting the implementation of the Eastern Sudan Agreement to avoid further conflict and continued humanitarian catastrophe.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

David Drew15/10/2008StroudLabourProposed
Mark Durkan15/10/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Lynne Jones16/10/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Martin Caton16/10/2008GowerLabourSeconded
David Taylor16/10/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Andrew George16/10/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Austin16/10/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
John Battle16/10/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley16/10/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/10/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark17/10/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore17/10/2008HendonLabourSigned
David Lepper20/10/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Mike Hancock20/10/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams20/10/2008ConwyLabourSigned
John Leech20/10/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams21/10/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne21/10/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Rudi Vis21/10/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Janet Anderson21/10/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/10/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle21/10/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson22/10/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Annette Brooke22/10/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean22/10/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster22/10/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Jim Devine22/10/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins23/10/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Susan Kramer23/10/2008Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer29/10/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
John Barrett04/11/2008Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Reed06/11/2008LoughboroughLabourSigned
Edward Davey06/11/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell25/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.