Parliament Website

Violent Video Games And Aggressive Behaviour In Children

EDM number 2416 in 2007-08, proposed by Keith Vaz on 04/11/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Crimes of violence, Information technology and Leisure.

That this House condemns the creation of the online computer game Kaboom which asks the player to replicate the actions of suicide bombers; believes that this game is offensive to the families of those killed by suicide bombers and devalues all human life; further believes that this game depicts an unnecessary level of violence; is deeply concerned that vulnerable people under the age of 18 are able to access and play this game; calls upon the game's creator to show sensitivity and responsibility by removing it from the internet; welcomes the findings of a new study from Iowa State University which recognises the link between violent video games and aggressive behaviour; and calls on the Government to revise its regulation of violent video games.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Keith Vaz04/11/2008Leicester EastLabourProposed
Bob Russell04/11/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Tim Loughton05/11/2008East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSeconded
Annette Brooke05/11/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Williams05/11/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley05/11/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Simpson05/11/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/11/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil05/11/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Paul Rowen05/11/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed06/11/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan06/11/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Roger Williams06/11/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor06/11/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Hugo Swire06/11/2008East DevonConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/11/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara06/11/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
John Pugh06/11/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech10/11/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams10/11/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing10/11/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock10/11/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew10/11/2008StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore10/11/2008HendonLabourSigned
David Lepper10/11/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Mark Durkan10/11/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Eric Illsley11/11/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Martin Caton11/11/2008GowerLabourSigned
Mark Hunter11/11/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch12/11/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/11/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington12/11/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson12/11/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins13/11/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Mark Williams13/11/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean13/11/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Michael Clapham13/11/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/11/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Devine17/11/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell18/11/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Jabez Foster19/11/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Rudi Vis19/11/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Marsha Singh20/11/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.