Parliament Website

Taxpayer-Owned Empty Properties And Homeless Families

EDM number 2420 in 2007-08, proposed by Dai Davies on 05/11/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Financial institutions and Housing.

That this House notes that in response to a Written Question asking the Chancellor of the Exchequer if he would make it his policy to take possession of houses and flats on which mortgage-holders with Northern Rock and Bradford and Bingley have defaulted and allocate the properties to those on the waiting list for social housing, the Economic Secretary to the Treasury responded saying that these banks `are run at arm's length from the Government, on commercial principles', as announced on 27th October 2008, Official Report, column 789W; further notes that in response to a related Question asking the Chancellor of the Exchequer if he would direct those banks which have received funds from the public purse not to repossess any property in cases where the mortgage holder is unable to keep up payments where the property in question is the mortgage holder's home and solely-owned property, the Economic Secretary referred to the `comprehensive package of measures to ... protect ordinary savers, depositors, businesses and borrowers, and to safeguard the interests of the taxpayer', as announced on 28th October 2008, Official Report, column 888W; believes Ministers are taking insufficient opportunities to ensure that vacated houses and flats now owned by the taxpayer through the £250 billion banking bail-out with public funds, are provided to those currently homeless and on housing waiting lists, which would be a win-win policy; and demands Ministers direct banks in receipt of taxpayers' money to make these properties available to the homeless.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Dai Davies05/11/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentProposed
Bob Russell05/11/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George06/11/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn06/11/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones06/11/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Frank Cook06/11/2008Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore10/11/2008HendonLabourSigned
David Drew10/11/2008StroudLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/11/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech10/11/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen11/11/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer11/11/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton11/11/2008GowerLabourSigned
Paul Keetch12/11/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/11/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington12/11/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Roger Williams12/11/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey13/11/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke13/11/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham13/11/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Janet Dean13/11/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/11/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell20/11/2008Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.