Parliament Website

Stoning Of Thirteen Year Old Rape Victim In Somalia

EDM number 2433 in 2007-08, proposed by Lynne Jones on 06/11/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Africa and Human rights.

That this House is deeply concerned by the horrific killing of 13 year old Aisha Ibrahim Duhulow who was stoned to death in Somalia; condemns the al-Shabab militia who arranged for a group of 50 men to stone Aisha Ibrahim Duhulow in front of a crowd of 1,000 spectators; notes that she was accused of adultery in breach of Islamic law but that her father and other sources told Amnesty International that she had in fact been raped by three men; is appalled that when she attempted to report the assault to the al-Shabab militia, she was detained and sentenced to death; further notes that when some of the witnesses to the stoning attempted to come to her aid, the al-Shabab militia opened fire and shot dead a boy who was a bystander; and calls on the Government to intervene in any possible way to help ensure the perpetrators are brought to justice and to help prevent any repetition of such a barbaric act.

This motion has been signed by a total of 59 MPs.

Lynne Jones06/11/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourProposed
Andrew George06/11/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn06/11/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley10/11/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Glenda Jackson10/11/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Bob Spink10/11/2008Castle PointUKIPSeconded
Robert Wareing10/11/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Andrew Pelling10/11/2008Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
John Leech10/11/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock10/11/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff10/11/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
David Drew10/11/2008StroudLabourSigned
David Lepper10/11/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle10/11/2008Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle10/11/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Bob Russell10/11/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Sheridan10/11/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders10/11/2008TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore10/11/2008HendonLabourSigned
Martin Caton11/11/2008GowerLabourSigned
Mark Hunter11/11/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil11/11/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan11/11/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Edward Davey11/11/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cummings11/11/2008EasingtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer11/11/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Tim Loughton11/11/2008East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSigned
Eric Illsley11/11/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Alan Simpson11/11/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nick Palmer12/11/2008BroxtoweLabourSigned
Dai Davies12/11/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Phil Willis12/11/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn12/11/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Colin Breed12/11/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope12/11/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/11/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Pugh13/11/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey13/11/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins13/11/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Annette Brooke13/11/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham13/11/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Janet Dean13/11/2008BurtonLabourSigned
David Borrow13/11/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley17/11/2008RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Devine17/11/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Mark Williams17/11/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming17/11/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams17/11/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Karen Buck17/11/2008Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty17/11/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/11/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell18/11/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Harry Cohen18/11/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster19/11/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Rudi Vis19/11/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Kim Howells20/11/2008PontypriddLabourSigned
Bill Etherington20/11/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jo Swinson25/11/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.