Parliament Website

Heathrow Airport Expansion Air Pollution And M4 Area Congestion Charging

EDM number 2451 in 2007-08, proposed by Justine Greening on 10/11/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Aviation and Roads.

That this House is concerned about the impact of possible Department of Transport-imposed congestion charging proposals for tackling air pollution caused by Heathrow airport expansion, including an M4 area £3 congestion charge for HGVs, and further additional charges on motorists; believes any such proposal would be unaffordable for hard-pressed communities and the local economy, hitting residents, commuters, the freight industry, and jobs and businesses located in west and south west London and the M4 corridor, already struggling with the economic downturn; expresses concern that this congestion charging detail was buried in a technical document issued alongside the main Adding Capacity at Heathrow Airport public consultation document and therefore is unlikely to have been sufficiently considered by respondents; and calls on the Government explicitly to rule out any such congestion charging as a means of meeting environmental limits for expanding Heathrow Airport.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Justine Greening10/11/2008PutneyConservativeProposed
Susan Kramer10/11/2008Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nick Hurd10/11/2008Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSeconded
Alan Keen10/11/2008Feltham and HestonLabourSeconded
Lee Scott10/11/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink10/11/2008Castle PointUKIPSeconded
Alan Simpson11/11/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Edward Davey11/11/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock11/11/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton11/11/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Mark Hunter11/11/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray12/11/2008North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Dai Davies12/11/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Robert Wareing12/11/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Paul Keetch13/11/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke13/11/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Moss17/11/2008North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Mark Williams17/11/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake18/11/2008Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Menzies Campbell18/11/2008North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Burstow19/11/2008Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis19/11/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jo Swinson25/11/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.