Parliament Website

Support For The Profoundly Disabled

EDM number 2475 in 2007-08, proposed by David Drew on 11/11/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Sickness, disability and carers' benefits.

That this House notes that profoundly disabled people over the age of 25 years who live with and are looked after by a relative are classed as persons disregarded for the purposes of discount within Schedule 1 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992 and therefore are not required to pay a contribution to council tax; further notes that if the relative is on housing benefit the disabled person is required to pay a non-dependant contribution to housing benefit; believes that profoundly disabled people should not have to pay either council tax or a contribution to housing benefit; and calls on the Government to address this anomaly.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

David Drew11/11/2008StroudLabourProposed
Mark Durkan11/11/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George11/11/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Robert Wareing12/11/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSeconded
David Simpson12/11/2008Upper BannDUPSeconded
Greg Pope12/11/2008HyndburnLabourSeconded
Martin Caton12/11/2008GowerLabourSigned
Phil Willis12/11/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor12/11/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley12/11/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock12/11/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn12/11/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/11/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell12/11/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alan Meale12/11/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Keetch12/11/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes12/11/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink12/11/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned
Ian Gibson13/11/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer13/11/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Annette Brooke13/11/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle13/11/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey13/11/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh13/11/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins13/11/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/11/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson17/11/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty17/11/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams17/11/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Mark Williams17/11/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Devine17/11/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen18/11/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard18/11/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Bob Russell18/11/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea19/11/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Paisley19/11/2008North AntrimDUPSigned
Michael Jabez Foster19/11/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Rudi Vis19/11/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Iris Robinson20/11/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
Bill Etherington20/11/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/11/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Heyes25/11/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne25/11/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.