Parliament Website

Meningitis Awareness And National Immunisation Programme

EDM number 2500 in 2007-08, proposed by Steve Webb on 13/11/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health education and preventive medicine.

That this House welcomes Meningitis Research Foundation's Winter Awareness campaign; notes that meningitis is a disease that affects nine new people everyday, of whom one will die and two more will suffer life-altering after-effects, such as brain damage, deafness and multiple amputations; further notes that babies and children are most at risk and that more young lives can be saved through raising awareness among clinical practitioners and the public of the early warning signs; therefore welcomes that in the 18 months since the Universal Infant Pneumococcal Vaccination was introduced there has been a marked fall in the number of invasive pneumococcal infections in children, and in associated deaths and disease, enabling some 470 children to avoid serious illness like meningitis, septicaemia and pneumonia; further notes however that between January and March 2008, 74 per cent. of children in England had received the vaccine booster dose as compared to 91 per cent. of children in Scotland; and calls on the Government to set in place measures to improve the uptake in England of both the primary vaccination and booster dose which both need to be given to ensure the fullest protection from pneumococcal disease.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Steve Webb13/11/2008NorthavonLiberal DemocratProposed
Howard Stoate13/11/2008DartfordLabourSeconded
John Bercow13/11/2008BuckinghamConservativeSeconded
Desmond Turner13/11/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSeconded
Andrew George13/11/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lee Scott13/11/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell13/11/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley17/11/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Devine17/11/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton17/11/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
David Taylor17/11/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson17/11/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Bob Spink17/11/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned
Martin Caton18/11/2008GowerLabourSigned
Paul Rowen18/11/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing18/11/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
John Battle18/11/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard18/11/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mark Durkan18/11/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Drew18/11/2008StroudLabourSigned
Ann Cryer18/11/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen18/11/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Lynne Jones18/11/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle18/11/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Annette Brooke19/11/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams19/11/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis19/11/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis19/11/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Graham Stringer19/11/2008Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Hywel Francis19/11/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Janet Dean19/11/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Paul Burstow19/11/2008Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/11/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
William McCrea19/11/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Marsha Singh19/11/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster19/11/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
John Hemming20/11/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz20/11/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock20/11/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore20/11/2008HendonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty20/11/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins20/11/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Kim Howells20/11/2008PontypriddLabourSigned
Tom Harris24/11/2008Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Ian McCartney24/11/2008MakerfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/11/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan24/11/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Mark Hunter24/11/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes25/11/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/11/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Simon Hughes25/11/2008North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne25/11/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Betty Williams25/11/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Jo Swinson25/11/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.