Parliament Website

Wheel Clamping And Parking Control Firms

EDM number 2532 in 2007-08, proposed by John Mann on 19/11/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Roads.

That this House notes that some wheel clamping and parking control firms use strongarm tactics to take money from motorists; notes that these tactics include representatives of such firms presenting themselves as solicitors and debt collectors and does not think that these practises are fair or appropriate; further notes that car registration information is provided to these firms by the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA); calls on the DVLA to maintain a list of approved firms who can have access to car registration information; and further calls on the DVLA to strike off firms who use these strongarm tactics.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

John Mann19/11/2008BassetlawLabourProposed
Ann Cryer19/11/2008KeighleyLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley19/11/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle19/11/2008ChorleyLabourSeconded
Andrew George19/11/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Taylor20/11/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Nicholas Winterton20/11/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Lee Scott20/11/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams20/11/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock20/11/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore20/11/2008HendonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/11/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Devine24/11/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Robert Wareing24/11/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
John Battle24/11/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff24/11/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster24/11/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/11/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss24/11/2008North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
William McCrea24/11/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Paul Holmes24/11/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink24/11/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned
Jim Sheridan24/11/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Greg Pope25/11/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
David Heyes25/11/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/11/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones25/11/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Alan Meale25/11/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne25/11/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/11/2008GowerLabourSigned
Betty Williams25/11/2008ConwyLabourSigned
David Wilshire25/11/2008SpelthorneConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.