Parliament Website


EDM number 279 in 2007-08, proposed by Roger Berry on 14/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Equality and Health services.

That this House notes the significant difficulty many disabled people with communication impairments face in getting the Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) equipment they need to communicate; further notes that as many as 600,000 people in the UK could benefit from access to AAC equipment; further notes that without the means to communicate people cannot express themselves freely, discuss ideas or make choices, which severely limits their life chances; further notes that freedom of expression is a fundamental right enshrined in the Human Rights Act 1998; regrets that access to AAC equipment remains a lottery for most people based on age, postcode and education status; further regrets that 23 per cent. of respondents to Scope's recent No Voice, No Choice survey had not had an assessment of their communication needs before they were 16 years old; further regrets that over one quarter of respondents to the same survey had to pay for equipment themselves or ask a charity because they could not get their equipment funded by a statutory agency; and calls on the Government to recognise communication as a fundamental right and ensure that people with communication impairments of all ages get the AAC equipment and support they need so they can lead more independent lives, access work, leisure and education opportunities and fulfil their potential as full citizens.

This motion has been signed by a total of 74 MPs.

Roger Berry14/11/2007KingswoodLabourProposed
John Bercow14/11/2007BuckinghamConservativeSeconded
David Howarth14/11/2007CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Michael Weir15/11/2007AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Adrian Sanders15/11/2007TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn15/11/2007Islington NorthLabourSeconded
David Taylor15/11/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Dai Davies15/11/2007Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Lee Scott15/11/2007Ilford NorthConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams15/11/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan15/11/2007HalifaxLabourSigned
John Hemming15/11/2007Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton15/11/2007MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley15/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Ian Gibson15/11/2007Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/11/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore15/11/2007HendonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty15/11/2007Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson15/11/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones19/11/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Andrew George19/11/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin19/11/2007Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden19/11/2007Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Joan Humble19/11/2007Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Paul Holmes20/11/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson20/11/2007Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Robert Key20/11/2007SalisburyConservativeSigned
Elfyn Llwyd20/11/2007Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Colin Breed20/11/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams20/11/2007ConwyLabourSigned
Mark Hunter21/11/2007CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech21/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis21/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard21/11/2007WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mark Durkan21/11/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Janet Dean21/11/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell21/11/2007Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Derek Conway21/11/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Greg Pope21/11/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/11/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/11/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Colin Burgon21/11/2007ElmetLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice22/11/2007PendleLabourSigned
Angus Robertson22/11/2007MorayScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/11/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Horam22/11/2007OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke22/11/2007Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey22/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew22/11/2007StroudLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/11/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Battle22/11/2007Leeds WestLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams22/11/2007CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Jabez Foster26/11/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara27/11/2007Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
David Heyes29/11/2007Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Nick Harvey03/12/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell03/12/2007Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Stewart Hosie03/12/2007Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Evans06/12/2007Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Jo Swinson06/12/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink10/12/2007Castle PointConservativeSigned
Albert Owen11/12/2007Ynys MLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds12/12/2007Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Phil Willis12/12/2007Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley13/12/2007Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Anthony D Wright13/12/2007Great YarmouthLabourSigned
Steve Webb17/12/2007NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin18/12/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman10/01/2008Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
David Crausby17/01/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hywel Williams28/01/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.