Parliament Website

Heathrow Expansion

EDM number 350 in 2007-08, proposed by Susan Kramer on 21/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Aviation, Climate change and Environmental protection.

That this House notes with concern that the Government has put forward proposals which could increase the number of annual flights at Heathrow from 473,000 in 2006 to 800,000; is alarmed that this will undermine attempts to tackle climate change; believes that the economic case for expansion at Heathrow has not been made; is concerned that ending runway alternation at Heathrow would end the half day of respite from aviation noise currently enjoyed by West London residents; believes that current measures to regulate noise levels around the airport are inadequate; notes that the ANASE study commissioned by the Department for Transport found that the `onset of community annoyance' occurs well below the existing threshold of an average 57 decibels; welcomes the formation by 12 local authorities of the 2M Group, representing the interests of the two million people, whose quality of life is affected by Heathrow; regrets BAA's heavy-handed attempts to prevent protests over the summer; notes that the history of assurances given to residents by both Government and BAA does not inspire confidence that the views of local people will be taken seriously; and therefore opposes any plans to reduce or end runway alternation or to build a third runway and 6th terminal at Heathrow.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs.

Susan Kramer21/11/2007Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratProposed
John McDonnell21/11/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Edward Davey21/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Tom Brake21/11/2007Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Leech22/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jennifer Willott22/11/2007Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Barrett22/11/2007Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood22/11/2007CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Webb22/11/2007NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams22/11/2007Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming22/11/2007Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt22/11/2007SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron22/11/2007Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Featherstone22/11/2007Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams22/11/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams22/11/2007CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter22/11/2007CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie22/11/2007Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock22/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew22/11/2007StroudLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn22/11/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable22/11/2007TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Burstow22/11/2007Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke22/11/2007Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones22/11/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Simon Hughes22/11/2007North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/11/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes22/11/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell22/11/2007ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Reid22/11/2007Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Baker22/11/2007LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing26/11/2007Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Greg Mulholland26/11/2007Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley26/11/2007RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Oaten26/11/2007WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders26/11/2007TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy28/11/2007Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis28/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Christopher Huhne03/12/2007EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith04/12/2007Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Sarah Teather06/12/2007Brent EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson10/12/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Alan Keen12/12/2007Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Jo Swinson12/12/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris13/12/2007Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor17/12/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
John Austin18/12/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
David Howarth18/12/2007CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Diane Abbott29/01/2008Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay18/02/2008ThurrockLabourSigned
Emily Thornberry18/02/2008Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty12/03/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.