Parliament Website

Former British Detainees In Saudi Arabia

EDM number 351 in 2007-08, proposed by Linda Riordan on 21/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Human rights and Middle East.

That this House believes that James Lee, Sandy Mitchell, Dr William Samson and Les Walker were tortured into falsely confessing to the murder of Christopher Rodway by the Saudi Arabian authorities and were wrongly convicted of the crime in 2001; notes that Amnesty International has reported that `justice cannot be done nor seen to be done' in Saudi Arabia; is concerned that the four men have struggled to find full-time employment because of their murder convictions; strongly regrets that the UK Government backed the Saudi regime in the House of Lords by arguing that its officials were protected by state immunity while simultaneously claiming that it `condemns torture in all its forms and works to eradicate it wherever it occurs'; firmly believes that the UK Government has a duty to defend its citizens when they have been mistreated by a foreign dictatorship which has such a blatant disregard for human rights; and calls upon the Government to support moves to clear the names of the four men.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Linda Riordan21/11/2007HalifaxLabourProposed
John McDonnell21/11/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Chris McCafferty21/11/2007Calder ValleyLabourSeconded
Marsha Singh21/11/2007Bradford WestLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley21/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock21/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones21/11/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/11/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard21/11/2007WalthamstowLabourSigned
Diane Abbott21/11/2007Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Katy Clark21/11/2007North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/11/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ian Gibson22/11/2007Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/11/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Drew22/11/2007StroudLabourSigned
Janet Dean22/11/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Edward Davey22/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham22/11/2007Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Alan Meale22/11/2007MansfieldLabourSigned
John Pugh22/11/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Prentice22/11/2007PendleLabourSigned
Robert Wareing26/11/2007Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Paul Holmes27/11/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward O'Hara27/11/2007Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer27/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore27/11/2007HendonLabourSigned
Jim Devine27/11/2007LivingstonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell28/11/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Rudi Vis28/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Leech28/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Bercow29/11/2007BuckinghamConservativeSigned
John Hemming29/11/2007Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey03/12/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner03/12/2007Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Mark Durkan03/12/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Hamilton04/12/2007MidlothianLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster06/12/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Alan Simpson10/12/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce10/12/2007GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen11/12/2007Ynys MLabourSigned
Jo Swinson12/12/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable07/01/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley05/02/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.