Parliament Website

Criminalising Prostitution And Action Against Trafficking For Sexual Exploitation

EDM number 633 in 2007-08, proposed by Diane Abbott on 07/01/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Crime, Human rights and Sexual offences.

That this House is concerned by recent comments made by Ministers and former Ministers regarding prostitution in the UK; notes that calls to ban prostitution in order to prevent trafficking for sexual exploitation appear to be ill thought-out; understands that Government raids on prostitution establishments as part of Operation Pentameter have not found a vast number of trafficked workers but rather that women working in such establishments are more likely to be made vulnerable by debts incurred during migration, or by poverty that drives them into sex work; further notes that women who are recognised as victims of trafficking are given few rights to protection or residency under current legislation; and calls on the Government to rethink its approach to prostitution by focusing on protecting women from exploitation and by offering suitable alternatives to prostitution for those who wish to leave it.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Diane Abbott07/01/2008Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Andrew Dismore08/01/2008HendonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale08/01/2008MansfieldLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley08/01/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Brian Iddon08/01/2008Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson08/01/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones08/01/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Ann Cryer08/01/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan09/01/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/01/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Borrow09/01/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Vincent Cable10/01/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway10/01/2008Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/01/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/01/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Neil Gerrard14/01/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
John McDonnell15/01/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Robert Wareing15/01/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Richard Younger-Ross15/01/2008TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma15/01/2008Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Roger Williams21/01/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson22/01/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan22/01/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar19/05/2008Glasgow CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.