Parliament Website

Assaults On Northern Rail Staff

EDM number 715 in 2007-08, proposed by Linda Riordan on 16/01/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Anti-social behaviour, Crime, Crimes of violence and Railways.

That this House applauds the vital work of Britain's railway workers who as essential public servants deserve to be treated fairly and with dignity and respect; is concerned that the most recent Railway Safety Standards Board Report found that in the last five years physical, verbal and threatening assaults on railway staff have risen from 3,179 per annum to 4,897 per annum; believes this unacceptable increase in assaults demonstrates that there is a duty not only on the railway companies to take action to prevent all types of assaults but also a duty of care and support for those staff who are assaulted; therefore condemns the heartless and greedy actions of Northern Rail whose new policy will mean that staff who are required to take time off work as a result of an assault will receive average earnings only if the assault resulted in a severe physical injury; further notes that this policy is being introduced despite Northern Rail returning over £16 million in operating profits last year; is appalled that the new policy will mean staff assaulted by less serious injuries and abusive and threatening behaviour, including sexist, racist and homophobic threats, will suffer a loss of earnings if they take time off work; further believes this short-sighted policy sends out the message that anti-social and disruptive behaviour is not taken seriously by Northern Rail; and urges the company to restore immediately its previous policy of paying average earnings to staff who have suffered physical, verbal and threatening assaults.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Linda Riordan16/01/2008HalifaxLabourProposed
Frank Cook16/01/2008Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Chris McCafferty16/01/2008Calder ValleyLabourSeconded
Bill Etherington16/01/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell16/01/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer17/01/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean17/01/2008BurtonLabourSigned
David Drew17/01/2008StroudLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley17/01/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/01/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/01/2008GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale17/01/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/01/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Lynne Jones17/01/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
John Pugh17/01/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams21/01/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Phil Willis21/01/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech21/01/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter21/01/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing21/01/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mark Durkan21/01/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Clapham21/01/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
William McCrea21/01/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Tony Lloyd21/01/2008Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Heyes21/01/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
John Cummings22/01/2008EasingtonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell22/01/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Colin Burgon22/01/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Eric Martlew22/01/2008CarlisleLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan23/01/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson23/01/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle23/01/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/01/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Hywel Francis24/01/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/01/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Greg Pope24/01/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Fraser Kemp25/01/2008Houghton and Washington EastLabourSigned
Katy Clark28/01/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
David Anderson28/01/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster28/01/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
David Chaytor28/01/2008Bury NorthLabourSigned
George Howarth28/01/2008Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins29/01/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Jim Devine29/01/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Albert Owen30/01/2008Ynys MLabourSigned
Rudi Vis30/01/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Borrow31/01/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn01/02/2008JarrowLabourSigned
Doug Henderson04/02/2008Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Dari Taylor04/02/2008Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley05/02/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Clelland07/02/2008Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
David Hamilton07/02/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Jon TrickettUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.