Parliament Website

50th Anniversary Of The Munich Air Crash

EDM number 868 in 2007-08, proposed by Tony Lloyd on 04/02/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House notes with sadness that 6th February is the 50th anniversary of the death of the great Manchester United footballers, Roger Byrne, Geoff Bent, Mark Jones, David Pegg, Billy Whelan, Eddie Colman, Tommy Taylor and Duncan Edwards in Munich returning from the quarter final European Cup match against Red Star Belgrade; pays respect to the memory of the club officials, journalists and others who also died that day, including former Manchester City and England goalkeeper, Frank Swift; remembers the stunned sadness with which the whole of the City of Manchester was engulfed by the tragedy which impacted on every family and everyone there regardless of club allegiance or none; recalls that the Busby Babes were the first English club side under the guidance of Matt Busby to enter the premier European club competition blazing a trail followed by many since; acknowledges that this side is widely recognised as one of the finest football teams to play in England and in Europe; is aware that United's reputation and achievements on the field of play since that time are amongst the most fitting tributes to that Munich side; offers continuing condolences to those directly affected by the crash; and is aware that Wednesday will be a day held in respect by football supporters of all backgrounds throughout the world.

This motion has been signed by a total of 78 MPs.

Tony Lloyd04/02/2008Manchester CentralLabourProposed
Ian Stewart04/02/2008EcclesLabourSeconded
Mike Hall04/02/2008Weaver ValeLabourSeconded
Graham Stringer04/02/2008Manchester, BlackleyLabourSeconded
Richard Caborn04/02/2008Sheffield CentralLabourSeconded
Ian McCartney04/02/2008MakerfieldLabourSeconded
Dave Watts04/02/2008St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Kevin Barron04/02/2008Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin04/02/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell04/02/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle04/02/2008Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn04/02/2008JarrowLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick04/02/2008PrestonLabourSigned
Alan Meale05/02/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Devine05/02/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Mark Hunter05/02/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan05/02/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil05/02/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John Leech05/02/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing05/02/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Ian Gibson05/02/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans05/02/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan05/02/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ann Cryer05/02/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn05/02/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton05/02/2008GowerLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice05/02/2008PendleLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan05/02/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle05/02/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Brian Iddon05/02/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins05/02/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones05/02/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Lepper05/02/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden05/02/2008Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell05/02/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
David Clelland05/02/2008Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty06/02/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton06/02/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Sammy Wilson06/02/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
Phil Willis06/02/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis06/02/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Hywel Francis06/02/2008AberavonLabourSigned
David Drew06/02/2008StroudLabourSigned
John Cummings06/02/2008EasingtonLabourSigned
Colin Burgon06/02/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne06/02/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/02/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson06/02/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Ken Purchase06/02/2008Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Janet Dean06/02/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Clive Efford07/02/2008ElthamLabourSigned
David Borrow07/02/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/02/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton07/02/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Don Foster07/02/2008BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington07/02/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Graham Brady07/02/2008Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Denis Murphy07/02/2008WansbeckLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster18/02/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Willie Rennie18/02/2008Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams18/02/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Keith Vaz18/02/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff18/02/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Vincent Cable18/02/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Adam Price18/02/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
John Horam19/02/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
John McDonnell19/02/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nick Harvey20/02/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson20/02/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/02/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Marsha Singh22/02/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Gordon Banks22/02/2008Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell26/02/2008RomfordConservativeSigned
Alan Simpson26/02/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley25/03/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lady Hermon21/04/2008North DownUUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/04/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nigel Dodds30/04/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.