Parliament Website

Remuneration In The Department For Culture, Media And Sport And The Royal Parks Agency

EDM number 880 in 2007-08, proposed by John McDonnell on 05/02/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Arts, Cultural heritage, Incomes and poverty and Pay.

That this House values the hard work and commitment of staff working in the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and the Royal Parks Agency; is dismayed at their recent pay offer which has been imposed on staff and is well below inflation and does nothing to shorten the length of time it takes to progress up the pay scale; supports their campaign for pay offers that rise in line with inflation and reduce pay differentials with other departments and public bodies doing work of a similar nature; and calls on the new Secretary of State to intervene in this dispute and provide solutions that can improve the working lives of those across the culture sector.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

John McDonnell05/02/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Elfyn Llwyd05/02/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSeconded
Nigel Evans05/02/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley05/02/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Robert Wareing06/02/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSeconded
Linda Riordan06/02/2008HalifaxLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins06/02/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale06/02/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Martin Caton06/02/2008GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/02/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer06/02/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
David Drew06/02/2008StroudLabourSigned
Rudi Vis06/02/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Lynne Jones07/02/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/02/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson07/02/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington07/02/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Leech19/02/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Sheridan20/02/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn21/02/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Devine21/02/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Janet Dean22/02/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams25/02/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson26/02/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Austin27/02/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Marsha Singh05/03/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.