Parliament Website

Frank Barnes School For Deaf Children And Bsl Education In London

EDM number 928 in 2007-08, proposed by Frank Dobson on 18/02/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Schools and Special educational needs.

That this House recognises the importance of ensuring that deaf and hearing-impaired children are educated in British Sign Language (BSL); believes that for many deaf children, BSL will be their lifelong first language and that they have a right to have the national curriculum delivered to them in this language; recognises the outstanding qualities that Frank Barnes School for Deaf Children in Camden has to offer, as highlighted in Ofsted's latest inspection; notes that this is the only school in Greater London offering BSL/English bilingual education for deaf children of primary age and that it educates children from 16 different London boroughs; is concerned about Frank Barnes' ability to continue to deliver its unique education in London if the school is relocated; and calls for this excellent provision to continue in accordance with the wishes of the pupils, parents, Governors, staff and supporters of the school.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

Frank Dobson18/02/2008Holborn and St PancrasLabourProposed
Glenda Jackson18/02/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Tom Levitt18/02/2008High PeakLabourSeconded
Alistair Carmichael18/02/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Malcolm Bruce18/02/2008GordonLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Barrett18/02/2008Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Spink18/02/2008Castle PointConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle18/02/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Andrew George18/02/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley19/02/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Hunter19/02/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer19/02/2008Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/02/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan19/02/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ann Cryer19/02/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/02/2008GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/02/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins19/02/2008TamworthLabourSigned
David Simpson20/02/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/02/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Colin Breed20/02/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell20/02/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Andrew Dismore20/02/2008HendonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin20/02/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis20/02/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Betty Williams21/02/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/02/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara21/02/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
John Battle21/02/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Derek Conway22/02/2008Old Bexley and SidcupIndependentSigned
Janet Dean22/02/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Clive Efford22/02/2008ElthamLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/02/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Austin22/02/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
David Borrow22/02/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
David Anderson25/02/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas25/02/2008DagenhamLabourSigned
Andrew Miller25/02/2008Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Ian McCartney25/02/2008MakerfieldLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd25/02/2008Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Alan Simpson26/02/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kate Hoey26/02/2008VauxhallLabourSigned
Michael Clapham26/02/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
William McCrea27/02/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Chris McCafferty03/03/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
James Gray03/03/2008North WiltshireConservativeSigned
David Lepper04/03/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
John Bercow06/03/2008BuckinghamConservativeSigned
Eric Illsley25/03/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Martin Linton10/06/2008BatterseaLabourSigned
Lembit 13/10/2008MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.