Parliament Website

Low Price Alcohol

EDM number 951 in 2007-08, proposed by Alan Meale on 18/02/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Alcoholism, Food and Service industries.

That this House shares concerns about the sale of low priced alcohol in the UK's off trade; notes that high alcohol cider, which at present represents the cheapest source of consumer alcoholic product for sale in Britain's shops and supermarkets, carries an excise duty of only 15 pence per pint compared to the 58 pence levied on beers of comparable strength; and calls upon the Government to do more to dissuade consumers and suppliers alike away from the culture of cheap booze purchasing, whilst at the same time addressing the anomaly of duty rates between cider and beer in a future budget.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs.

Alan Meale18/02/2008MansfieldLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley19/02/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Ann Cryer19/02/2008KeighleyLabourSeconded
Janet Dean19/02/2008BurtonLabourSeconded
David Taylor19/02/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Chris McCafferty19/02/2008Calder ValleyLabourSeconded
John McDonnell19/02/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Drew19/02/2008StroudLabourSigned
Mark Durkan19/02/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Hancock19/02/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell20/02/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Dai Davies20/02/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Sammy Wilson20/02/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
Phil Willis20/02/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis20/02/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Desmond Turner20/02/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Janet Anderson20/02/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin20/02/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones20/02/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle20/02/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/02/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey20/02/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams21/02/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn21/02/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/02/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Marsha Singh22/02/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Paul Holmes22/02/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington22/02/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Borrow22/02/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Hywel Williams25/02/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
John Pugh26/02/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson26/02/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Chaytor26/02/2008Bury NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham26/02/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Mark Williams26/02/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland27/02/2008Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke28/02/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Si28/02/2008Swansea EastLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Vincent Cable05/03/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Jabez Foster05/03/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
John Horam06/03/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Doug Naysmith06/03/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Linda Riordan11/03/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Paul Truswell02/04/2008PudseyLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds23/04/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Iris Robinson29/04/2008StrangfordDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.