Parliament Website

Life And Legacy Of Sir Peter Scott

EDM number 1083 in 2008-09, proposed by David Drew on 12/03/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Nature conservation.

That this House takes the opportunity of his centenary year to commend the outstanding contribution to international conservation made by Sir Peter Scott, recognising his pioneering work to save endangered species and habitats and the access he gave people to the natural world; notes his groundbreaking wildlife broadcasts and his establishment of the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust (WWT) in Slimbridge, the first of what would become a UK network of wetland visitor centres; and commends the work of the WWT, a wonderful legacy of Sir Peter's activities, and its ongoing work to protect wetland species and habitats at risk, bringing people and wildlife closer together in order to help meet conservation challenges for the 21st century.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

David Drew12/03/2009StroudLabourProposed
Andrew Dismore13/03/2009HendonLabourSeconded
Colin Burgon13/03/2009ElmetLabourSeconded
Gordon Prentice13/03/2009PendleLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle13/03/2009ChorleyLabourSeconded
Brian Iddon13/03/2009Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley13/03/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Lynne Jones13/03/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Joan Humble13/03/2009Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/03/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/03/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton16/03/2009GowerLabourSigned
Ann Cryer16/03/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
John Cummings16/03/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Paul Truswell16/03/2009PudseyLabourSigned
Andrew George17/03/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter17/03/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray17/03/2009North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Jim Dobbin17/03/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/03/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden17/03/2009Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
David Lepper17/03/2009Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Robert Key17/03/2009SalisburyConservativeSigned
David Crausby17/03/2009Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alan Simpson18/03/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis18/03/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Phil Willis18/03/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams18/03/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Evans19/03/2009Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
John Hemming19/03/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke19/03/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell19/03/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/03/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Malcolm Moss20/03/2009North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock20/03/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson23/03/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Peter Luff24/03/2009Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Paul Rowen26/03/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins31/03/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/04/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bill Etherington23/04/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Fraser Kemp14/05/2009Houghton and Washington EastLabourSigned
Nia Griffith08/07/2009LlanelliLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.