Parliament Website

Steve Coppell

EDM number 1484 in 2008-09, proposed by Martin Salter on 13/05/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House pays tribute to the career of former Reading Football Club manager Steve Coppell; applauds the honesty, decency, modesty, and professionalism he has displayed throughout his managerial career at all his clubs including Brighton, Brentford, Crystal Palace, and Reading; notes that he has been the most successful manager in the history of Reading FC, taking the club to the Premiership for the first time in its 135 year history in a season which saw the club achieve a record 106 points when it was crowned Championship winners in April 2006; further notes his success in the Premiership in guiding Reading to 8th place, the club's highest ever position; congratulates him for his numerous awards including the League Managers' Association Manager of the Year in May 2006; regrets his decision to resign as manager of Reading FC but wishes him well in the future and considers him to be a magnificent role model of both a professional footballer and manager.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Martin Salter13/05/2009Reading WestLabourProposed
Rob Wilson13/05/2009Reading EastConservativeSeconded
Oliver Heald13/05/2009North East HertfordshireConservativeSeconded
Mark Field13/05/2009Cities of London and WestminsterConservativeSeconded
Stephen Pound13/05/2009Ealing NorthLabourSeconded
Richard Benyon13/05/2009NewburyConservativeSeconded
Angela Browning13/05/2009Tiverton and HonitonConservativeSigned
John McDonnell14/05/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara14/05/2009Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
David Drew14/05/2009StroudLabourSigned
Jim Devine14/05/2009LivingstonLabourSigned
Gordon Banks18/05/2009Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Robert Wareing18/05/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Roger Godsiff18/05/2009Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Ann Cryer18/05/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/05/2009GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/05/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell20/05/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/05/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis20/05/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Leech20/05/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan20/05/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Eric Illsley01/06/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Bill Etherington01/06/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Anderson01/06/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins11/06/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey12/06/2009West Bromwich WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.