Parliament Website

Protection Of Sikh Families In Pakistan

EDM number 1522 in 2008-09, proposed by John McDonnell on 18/05/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Religious discrimination.

That this House notes the deep concern felt within the British Punjabi community at the reports of attacks on Sikhs by Taliban militants in the Aurakzai area of Pakistan, which has resulted in the demolition of Sikh homes and businesses and the flight of Sikh families to seek refuge in gurdwaras; and calls on the Government to urge the Pakistani government to do all it can to ensure the protection of Sikhs from attacks by extremists and, wherever necessary, compensate and secure the safe relocation of Sikh families.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

John McDonnell18/05/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley19/05/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton19/05/2009GowerLabourSeconded
Virendra Sharma19/05/2009Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones19/05/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan19/05/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Gregory Campbell19/05/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Mike Hancock19/05/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/05/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Paul Rowen20/05/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech20/05/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing20/05/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Andrew Dismore20/05/2009HendonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/05/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Drew21/05/2009StroudLabourSigned
Dai Davies21/05/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Marsha Singh01/06/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Betty Williams01/06/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff01/06/2009Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Ann Cryer01/06/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey01/06/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz02/06/2009Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay02/06/2009ThurrockLabourSigned
Keith Vaz02/06/2009Leicester EastLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd03/06/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Laura Moffatt03/06/2009CrawleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/06/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Janet Anderson10/06/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins11/06/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan11/06/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Simon Hughes11/11/2009North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.