Parliament Website

Breathe Easy Week 2009

EDM number 1589 in 2008-09, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 03/06/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health education and preventive medicine.

That this House supports the British Lung Foundation's Love Your Lungs campaign for Breathe Easy Week 2009; praises the work of the Breathe Easy patient support network in providing help and information for people living with a lung condition and their carers; notes that less than a quarter of the estimated 3.7 million people in the UK with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) have been diagnosed with the disease; calls on the Government to assess the benefits of incorporating spirometry testing into the new screening programme in order to ensure more people with a lung condition get an early diagnosis; recognises the importance of pulmonary rehabilitation for people with COPD, but observes that in many areas of the UK there is insufficient access to these courses and that they are not adequately funded; believes that more needs to be done to ensure that pulmonary rehabilitation is available to everyone who could benefit from it; eagerly awaits the publication of the clinical strategy for COPD; and urges the full implementation of the strategy in order to ensure an improved quality of life for all people with the disease.

This motion has been signed by a total of 66 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins03/06/2009Luton NorthLabourProposed
Bob Spink03/06/2009Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Peter Soulsby04/06/2009Leicester SouthLabourSeconded
Paul Rowen04/06/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Glenda Jackson04/06/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Chris McCafferty04/06/2009Calder ValleyLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn04/06/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George08/06/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech08/06/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams08/06/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing08/06/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
David Taylor08/06/2009North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
James Gray08/06/2009North WiltshireConservativeSigned
John Cummings08/06/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/06/2009GowerLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/06/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle08/06/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz09/06/2009Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Dai Davies09/06/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Keith Vaz09/06/2009Leicester EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/06/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew09/06/2009StroudLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin09/06/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore09/06/2009HendonLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/06/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/06/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
David Clelland09/06/2009Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
David Lepper09/06/2009Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Phil Willis10/06/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis10/06/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Battle10/06/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
Janet Anderson10/06/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Paul Flynn10/06/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Annette Brooke10/06/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan10/06/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell10/06/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
William McCrea10/06/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Ian McCartney10/06/2009MakerfieldLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood10/06/2009Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
David Simpson10/06/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Iris Robinson10/06/2009StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell10/06/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/06/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Katy Clark11/06/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Linda Riordan11/06/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard12/06/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mark Hunter15/06/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham15/06/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Denis Murphy15/06/2009WansbeckLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders15/06/2009TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Cawsey15/06/2009Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Eric Illsley17/06/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins18/06/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady22/06/2009South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Norman Baker22/06/2009LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Gary Streeter22/06/2009South West DevonConservativeSigned
Mark Williams23/06/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson23/06/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy24/06/2009GlenrothesLabourSigned
Willie Rennie26/06/2009Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Austin02/07/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Jo Swinson13/07/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby15/07/2009Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds21/07/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Frank Cook13/10/2009Stockton NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.