Parliament Website

World Lacrosse Championships In 2010 In Manchester

EDM number 1944 in 2008-09, proposed by Graham Brady on 20/07/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House notes the approaching FIL Men's World Lacrosse Championships, competed for by 33 international teams, due to take place in Manchester in July 2010, bringing over 20,000 people to the region with an estimated economic impact of £6.7 million; further notes that although it has been the policy of UK Sport to fund major sporting events in the UK, the World Lacrosse Championships, costing English Lacrosse £1.4 million, has been denied funding; further notes that the England Men's team, ranked 5th in the world, will be competing; further notes that it costs up to £300,000 to run the squad each year and that Sport England funding is not provided to cover this cost, leaving players to pay their own way; regrets that lacrosse is not recognised by the International Olympic Committee despite its popularity around the world; and congratulates the England women's team on finishing 4th in the recent 2009 Lacrosse World Cup.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Graham Brady20/07/2009Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeProposed
Ann Winterton20/07/2009CongletonConservativeSeconded
Mark Hunter20/07/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Beverley Hughes20/07/2009Stretford and UrmstonLabourSeconded
Graham Stringer20/07/2009Manchester, BlackleyLabourSeconded
Tony Lloyd20/07/2009Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Nigel Evans20/07/2009Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley20/07/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John McDonnell21/07/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Iris Robinson21/07/2009StrangfordDUPSigned
Nicholas Winterton21/07/2009MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Brian Iddon21/07/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/07/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin21/07/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle21/07/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Tim Farron12/10/2009Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Cook13/10/2009Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil13/10/2009Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John Leech13/10/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock13/10/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton13/10/2009GowerLabourSigned
David Simpson13/10/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn14/10/2009JarrowLabourSigned
William McCrea14/10/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Rudi Vis14/10/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/10/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
John Hemming26/10/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.