Parliament Website

Dianne Wilmore And Court Of Appeal

EDM number 2158 in 2008-09, proposed by Paul Rowen on 27/10/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Industrial health and safety.

That this House is extremely saddened by the death of Dianne Willmore from mesothelioma; notes the outcome of her case as heard in the Civil Court of Appeal on 14 October 2009; welcomes this landmark ruling which will enable pupils exposed to asbestos whilst at school to be awarded damages from negligent councils should they contract mesothelioma; regrets that her death this morning renders the decision too late to improve her own life; and looks forward to further victims of mesothelioma being able to use Dianne's case as a basis for redress in the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Paul Rowen27/10/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew Dismore27/10/2009HendonLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin27/10/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Paul Holmes27/10/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan27/10/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Lynne Jones27/10/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Bob Spink27/10/2009Castle PointIndependentSigned
Lindsay Hoyle27/10/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley27/10/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock28/10/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn28/10/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
David Drew28/10/2009StroudLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds28/10/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Frank Cook28/10/2009Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton28/10/2009GowerLabourSigned
Judy Mallaber28/10/2009Amber ValleyLabourSigned
George Howarth28/10/2009Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn28/10/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer29/10/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
John Hemming29/10/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams02/11/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty02/11/2009Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey02/11/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson02/11/2009StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Simpson03/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/11/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard03/11/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
David Anderson03/11/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn04/11/2009JarrowLabourSigned
George Galloway04/11/2009Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
John Leech04/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Charles Kennedy09/11/2009Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington09/11/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/11/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.