Parliament Website

National Football Museum In Preston

EDM number 262 in 2008-09, proposed by Mark Hendrick on 11/12/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Museums and galleries and Sports.

That this House recognises the major contribution that Preston has made to the development of football as the UK's national sport, that Preston North End is one of 12 founder members of the Football League dating back to 1888 and that Deepdale is the oldest professional football ground in the world; notes that Preston North End are the first ever double winners, winning both the League Championship and the FA Cup in the founding year of the Football League; and deplores remarks made by the Noble Lord Mawhinney when he stated that the National Football Museum, which hosts the crown jewels of football, should be moved from Preston to London and housed at the Wembley Stadium.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Mark Hendrick11/12/2008PrestonLabourProposed
Peter Kilfoyle11/12/2008Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Ken Purchase11/12/2008Wolverhampton North EastLabourSeconded
Edward O'Hara11/12/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSeconded
David Chaytor11/12/2008Bury NorthLabourSeconded
Ann Coffey11/12/2008StockportLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer11/12/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham11/12/2008Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Borrow11/12/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Dari Taylor11/12/2008Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Derek Twigg11/12/2008HaltonLabourSigned
Anthony D Wright11/12/2008Great YarmouthLabourSigned
Siobhain McDonagh11/12/2008Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Eric Martlew11/12/2008CarlisleLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice11/12/2008PendleLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan11/12/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
George Howarth11/12/2008Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle11/12/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins11/12/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Fraser Kemp11/12/2008Houghton and Washington EastLabourSigned
Robert Wareing15/12/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
David Drew15/12/2008StroudLabourSigned
Alan Meale15/12/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell15/12/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones15/12/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Brian Iddon15/12/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
John Horam15/12/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
David Simpson15/12/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Williams16/12/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech16/12/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Stewart16/12/2008EcclesLabourSigned
Janet Dean16/12/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/12/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Frank Cook16/12/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden16/12/2008Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/12/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Heyes16/12/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Alan Simpson17/12/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/12/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming17/12/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson18/12/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
David Anderson12/01/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Greg Pope14/01/2009HyndburnLabourSigned
Bill Etherington14/01/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis19/01/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Albert Owen27/01/2009Ynys MLabourSigned
Andy Reed05/03/2009LoughboroughLabourSigned
Ian GibsonUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.