Parliament Website

Abortion Rights In Northern Ireland

EDM number 625 in 2008-09, proposed by Diane Abbott on 28/01/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Medical ethics.

That this House supports safe, legal abortion for women, within existing time limits, no matter where they live in the United Kingdom; notes that because the Abortion Act 1967 was never extended to Northern Ireland, women in Northern Ireland do not have the same access to abortion as women in the rest of the United Kingdom; further notes that as a consequence women who are for example the victims of rape or incest or who are carrying a severely abnormal foetus are forced to continue their pregnancy against their will or to travel to England and pay for a private abortion, which can cost up to £2,000 and takes place later in gestation than necessary because of the burden on women to raise significant sums of money at short notice and to organise travel to Britain; condemns the inequity that this causes by its impact on poorer, younger and other vulnerable women; deplores the fact that thousands of women are forced into motherhood, illegal abortion or debt each year because they do not have the same reproductive rights as women in other parts of the UK; and calls on the Government to relieve this burden and provide funding for women in Northern Ireland to access NHS abortion services in Britain.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Diane Abbott28/01/2009Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Katy Clark28/01/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan28/01/2009HalifaxLabourSeconded
Paul Holmes28/01/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jo Swinson28/01/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley28/01/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Phyllis Starkey28/01/2009Milton Keynes South WestLabourSigned
David Chaytor28/01/2009Bury NorthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen28/01/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Ann Cryer28/01/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Roger Berry28/01/2009KingswoodLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter29/01/2009Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/01/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson29/01/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Nick Harvey29/01/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones02/02/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Ian Davidson02/02/2009Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard02/02/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/02/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma02/02/2009Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/02/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty03/02/2009Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt03/02/2009CrawleyLabourSigned
Colin Challen03/02/2009Morley and RothwellLabourSigned
Emily Thornberry03/02/2009Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
John Leech04/02/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling04/02/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis04/02/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Paul Flynn04/02/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/02/2009GowerLabourSigned
Bill Etherington04/02/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Simon Hughes04/02/2009North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Lepper04/02/2009Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Clare Short09/02/2009Birmingham, LadywoodIndependent LabourSigned
Ann Clwyd09/02/2009Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/02/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Frank Dobson09/02/2009Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
John Austin09/02/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Desmond Turner09/02/2009Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Betty Williams09/02/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Jacqui Lait10/02/2009BeckenhamConservativeSigned
Sandra Osborne10/02/2009Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Evan Harris11/02/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Doug Naysmith11/02/2009Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Charlotte Atkins12/02/2009Staffordshire MoorlandsLabourSigned
Eric Illsley23/02/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Julie Morgan23/02/2009Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/02/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Robert Key27/02/2009SalisburyConservativeSigned
John McDonnell27/02/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Susan Kramer27/02/2009Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Salter04/03/2009Reading WestLabourSigned
Judy Mallaber04/03/2009Amber ValleyLabourSigned
Brian Iddon10/03/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Martyn Jones13/03/2009Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Lynne Featherstone16/03/2009Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned
Gwyn Prosser17/03/2009DoverLabourSigned
Jim Dowd26/03/2009Lewisham WestLabourSigned
Marsha Singh31/03/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Crispin Blunt31/03/2009ReigateConservativeSigned
Stephen Dorrell08/05/2009CharnwoodConservativeSigned
Ian GibsonUnknownWithdrawn
John BercowUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.