Parliament Website

Cycling And The Vote Bike Manifesto Campaign

EDM number 1009 in 2009-10, proposed by Gwyn Prosser on 04/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Cycling.

That this House notes the benefits of cycling to health and to communities, streets and the environment; welcomes the substantial recent increases in cycle use in London and other parts of Britain including several of the Cycle Towns; and supports the aims of the Vote Bike manifesto to make cycling mainstream by strengthening the political and resource commitments made to cycling by Government departments, local authorities, health and other relevant bodies, improving the training and skills of planners and engineers required to deliver quality cycle-friendly planning and design, tackling the risks faced by cyclists through training and awareness campaigns for both drivers and cyclists through lower speed limits and through strengthened road traffic law and enforcement, enhancing provision for combining cycling with public transport by ensuring good access to stations and interchanges, providing secure parking including cycle hubs at major stations and sensibly managed provision for carrying cycles on public transport, providing encouragement, incentives and opportunities to try out cycling in schools and workplaces and for key target groups such as health patients and disadvantaged groups, plus tax incentives to support the use, purchase and repair of cycles and related accessories, and creating new and improved opportunities for recreational and off-road cycling including the appropriate opening up of green spaces, forest land, rights of way, waterways and sections of Britain's coast in order to deliver substantial increases in cycle use while halving the risks of cycling within 10 years.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs.

Gwyn Prosser04/03/2010DoverLabourProposed
Andrew Stunell04/03/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones04/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley04/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lee Scott04/03/2010Ilford NorthConservativeSeconded
Paul Holmes04/03/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell04/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward O'Hara05/03/2010Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew05/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore05/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn05/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Paul Keetch05/03/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Pound08/03/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis08/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Borrow08/03/2010South RibbleLabourSigned
John Cummings08/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale08/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
David Lepper08/03/2010Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Bob Spink08/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSigned
Keith Vaz09/03/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray09/03/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Roger Godsiff09/03/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Nigel Evans09/03/2010Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Ann Cryer09/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice09/03/2010PendleLabourSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kim Howells09/03/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Joan Humble09/03/2010Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
David Simpson10/03/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson10/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty10/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Annette Brooke10/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty10/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Mark Durkan10/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Williams10/03/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter10/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark11/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Joan Walley11/03/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming11/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes12/03/2010North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
George Howarth15/03/2010Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Ian Davidson15/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
James Plaskitt16/03/2010Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Tom Brake16/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds17/03/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lorely Burt22/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Jacqui Smith24/03/2010RedditchLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson24/03/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd06/04/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Shona McIsaac07/04/2010CleethorpesLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.