Parliament Website

Surgeons' Working Hours

EDM number 1012 in 2009-10, proposed by Martin Horwood on 04/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Health services and Standards.

That this House calls for the removal of the constraints on surgeons' working hours to a maximum of 48 hours per week imposed by the European Working Time Directive; notes the findings of a recent survey by the Royal College of Surgeons which shows that with current staffing levels it is impossible to implement a 48 hour working week and maintain good service delivery and that the new hours have led to an increase in handovers with doctors unable to follow their patient throughout surgical treatment and that the shift system for a 48 hour working week is significantly more tiring than the on-call system it replaced; and calls for an opt-out of the European Working Time Directive for surgeons and for surgeons in training to allow them to extend their working hours to a maximum of 65 hours per week, with appropriate rest breaks, so that hospitals are safely staffed to provide high quality care and continuity of care for all patients.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Martin Horwood04/03/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratProposed
Richard Taylor04/03/2010Wyre ForestIndependentSeconded
David Drew04/03/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Richard Bacon04/03/2010South NorfolkConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley04/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Keetch05/03/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton08/03/2010MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton08/03/2010CongletonConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Bob Spink08/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSigned
Bob Russell09/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Nigel Evans09/03/2010Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn09/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Philip Davies09/03/2010ShipleyConservativeSigned
John Leech10/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter10/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams10/03/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming11/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes12/03/2010North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Lembit 12/03/2010MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Diane Abbott12/03/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
David Amess15/03/2010Southend WestConservativeSigned
Ian Davidson15/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Frank Cook15/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Tom Brake16/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin18/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard18/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
John Thurso18/03/2010Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner22/03/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Lorely Burt22/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Burstow29/03/2010Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.