Parliament Website

Science And The General Election 2010 Campaign

EDM number 1013 in 2009-10, proposed by Brian Iddon on 04/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Elections and Science.

That this House congratulates the Royal Society of Chemistry for its pioneering organisation of the event, Science and the General Election 2010, to be held in the Attlee Suite on 9 March 2010 at 7.30pm; recognises that the Society has organised this debate on science `to serve the public interest' in conjunction with the House of Commons Select Committee on Science and Technology and major UK science and engineering organisations including the Royal Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Physics, the Society of Biology, the Campaign for Science and Engineering, the Geological Society, the Royal Astronomical Society and others; acknowledges the growing interest in debating science and engineering issues prior to the General Election; recognises that science and engineering will play a vitally important part in a wide range of issues facing the next Parliament and the next Government; and hopes that right hon. and hon. Members from all sides of the House and members of the science and engineering community will be able to benefit from listening to the Parliamentary representatives of the major parties who will be taking part in this debate.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Brian Iddon04/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourProposed
Mark Lancaster04/03/2010North East Milton KeynesConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley04/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Phil Willis04/03/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Drew05/03/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Keetch05/03/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
David Borrow08/03/2010South RibbleLabourSigned
Robert Wareing08/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis08/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Graham Stringer08/03/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale08/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Robert Key08/03/2010SalisburyConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Bob Spink08/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSigned
Stephen Williams09/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz09/03/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray09/03/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn09/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans09/03/2010Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Mark Williams10/03/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter10/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech10/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty10/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Annette Brooke10/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones10/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Simon Hughes12/03/2010North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Tom Brake16/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lorely Burt22/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.