Parliament Website

Gmb Union And Safeguard Campaign

EDM number 1015 in 2009-10, proposed by Natascha Engel on 04/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Crimes of violence and Security industry.

That this House congratulates the GMB union on the launch of its national SafeGuard campaign to protect security guards from the risk of abuse and violence; notes that GMB members working as security guards report an increase in the number of violent attacks that they experience whilst going about their duties at work; further notes that no information is collected by the industry or its trade association, the British Security Industry Association, on the number of attacks against security officers; further notes with concern that many security officers injured in attacks receive no sick pay, counselling or welfare support from their employers; believes that security officers attacked on duty should not suffer financially, and urges employers in the security industry to implement sick pay and injury on duty schemes; and calls on all companies in the security industry, clients using the services of security companies, security industry trade associations, hon. Members, the Government, local authorities and others to sign up to and endorse GMB's SafeGuard Charter, and thus commit to taking action to reduce the number of attacks on security officers, to improve training and terms and conditions of employment in the security industry, and to ensure that security officers are treated with dignity and respect.

This motion has been signed by a total of 71 MPs.

Natascha Engel04/03/2010North East DerbyshireLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley04/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell04/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew Dismore05/03/2010HendonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn05/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
David Drew05/03/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff08/03/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Robert Wareing08/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis08/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Graham Stringer08/03/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
David Borrow08/03/2010South RibbleLabourSigned
John Cummings08/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Tom Clarke08/03/2010Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Alan Meale08/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
David Lepper08/03/2010Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Pound08/03/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Keith Vaz09/03/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Anne Begg09/03/2010Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn09/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Nigel Evans09/03/2010Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Frank Doran09/03/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
David Clelland09/03/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Joan Humble09/03/2010Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner09/03/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice09/03/2010PendleLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty10/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Mark Williams10/03/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech10/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bruce George10/03/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan10/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell10/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones10/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson10/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Michael Connarty10/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
John Hemming11/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark11/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara12/03/2010Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter12/03/2010Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSigned
Ian Davidson15/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
David Hamilton15/03/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
John Mason15/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Dowd16/03/2010Lewisham WestLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell16/03/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake16/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gwyn Prosser16/03/2010DoverLabourSigned
Richard Burden16/03/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden17/03/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Doug Henderson18/03/2010Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard18/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Colin Burgon22/03/2010ElmetLabourSigned
Harry Cohen24/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Celia Barlow24/03/2010HoveLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Jim McGovern25/03/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas30/03/2010DagenhamLabourSigned
Kate Hoey06/04/2010VauxhallLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd06/04/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.