Parliament Website

Welfare Of Haytham Al-Maleh In Syria

EDM number 1023 in 2009-10, proposed by Ann Clwyd on 04/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Middle East and Prisons.

That this House is extremely concerned by reports that Amnesty prisoner-of-conscience Haytham Al-Maleh has become seriously ill since being denied appropriate medication for his chronic medical conditions; believes that Mr Al-Maleh, a prominent lawyer, human rights activist and former President of the Syrian Human Rights Society, has again been imprisoned because of his defence of human rights in Syria; recalls his defence of Mr Mamoun Al-Homsi and Mr Riad Seef, both former Syrian members of parliament, whose cases were taken up by the Inter-Parliamentary Union's Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians; and asks the international community to urge the Syrian government to release Mr Al-Maleh or at least to allow him to receive the medical treatment he requires as a matter of urgency and to significantly improve his conditions of detention.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Ann Clwyd04/03/2010Cynon ValleyLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn04/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Phyllis Starkey04/03/2010Milton Keynes South WestLabourSeconded
Tom Brake04/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Diane Abbott04/03/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins04/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Michael Meacher04/03/2010Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
David Clelland04/03/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore05/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
David Drew05/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley05/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Robert Wareing08/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Ann Cryer09/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Stephen Williams09/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock09/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kim Howells09/03/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Dai Davies10/03/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Leech10/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan10/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty10/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones10/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
John Hemming11/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark11/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter12/03/2010Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell16/03/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Paul Murphy06/04/2010TorfaenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.