Parliament Website

Great British Elm Experiment Campaign

EDM number 1048 in 2009-10, proposed by Bob Russell on 09/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Nature conservation.

That this House congratulates the Conservation Foundation on launching the Great British Elm Experiment which is an inspirational project aimed at restoring elm trees to the British landscape which from the late 1960s onwards witnessed the loss of an estimated 25 million elm trees destroyed by Dutch elm disease, leaving little more than 200 survivors according to research undertaken by the Natural History Museum; welcomes the involvement of 250 schools across Britain who have planted cuttings taken from some of the few mature trees that survived, from Hampshire, Norfolk and Cambridgeshire; further welcomes the announcement by the Conservation Foundation that in the coming years it intends to provide thousands more saplings which it will propagate; notes that this process will take decades but hopes that future generations will be able to enjoy the British landscape immortalised by the paintings of John Constable and the evocative lines of John Betjeman; and calls on the Government, across departments, to encourage the planting of elm trees, of which there are 40 different varieties, on land which it owns and also for other public bodies and land-owners to do the same.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Bob Russell09/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley09/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George09/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Drew10/03/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore10/03/2010HendonLabourSeconded
Keith Vaz10/03/2010Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Michael Connarty10/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Stephen Williams10/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech10/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer10/03/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
William McCrea10/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Robert Key10/03/2010SalisburyConservativeSigned
David Simpson10/03/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Ann Cryer11/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Dai Davies11/03/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones15/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson15/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Tom Brake16/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray16/03/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Tony Baldry16/03/2010BanburyConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis16/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/03/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss18/03/2010North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Edward Davey18/03/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn22/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Peter Ainsworth22/03/2010East SurreyConservativeSigned
Jennifer Willott22/03/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.