Parliament Website

Journalists In Afghanistan

EDM number 1075 in 2009-10, proposed by Willie Rennie on 11/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Afghanistan, Broadcasting, Military operations and Press.

That this House condemns the decision by the Government to prevent British broadcasters and national newspapers from embedding reporters with military units in Afghanistan once the general election has been called; expresses dismay that the decision will effectively prevent journalists from reporting from the front line; notes with concern that Ministry of Defence websites will be prevented from publishing any non-factual material, including troops' opinions of the war or their success against the Taliban; further notes with concern that senior officers will also be forbidden from giving speeches or interviews; and calls on the Government to reverse its decision to limit journalistic access to the war in Afghanistan and allow for full and free reporting of the conflict.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Willie Rennie11/03/2010Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell11/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley12/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Colin Breed15/03/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones15/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock15/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter16/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech16/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George16/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes16/03/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn17/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Michael Weir17/03/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Lorely Burt17/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey18/03/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming18/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd23/03/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Brake23/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson24/03/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.