Parliament Website

Palestinian Farmers

EDM number 1107 in 2009-10, proposed by Katy Clark on 16/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of International trade.

That this House notes with concern the decision of the UK Border Agency to deny visas to three Palestinian farmers, Lina Mahmoud, Nahed Beshariah and Belal Eid, who were hoping to visit the UK to mark Fairtrade Fortnight; congratulates these three individuals for their hard work in being involved in the production of the first ever Fairtrade product from the occupied territories; supports the excellent work of Zaytoun in exporting Fairtrade olive oil from the West Bank to the UK; further notes that in 2009 the Prime Minister expressed himself as being delighted with the initiative; and therefore urges the Government to intervene and allow these farmers entry into the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Katy Clark16/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Bob Russell16/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan16/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley16/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lynne Jones17/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
John Leech17/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Angus MacNeil17/03/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Williams17/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew17/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
David Lepper17/03/2010Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle17/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Brian Iddon18/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard18/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Dai Davies18/03/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock22/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott22/03/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn22/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris McCafferty22/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Kate Hoey22/03/2010VauxhallLabourSigned
Michael Connarty22/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd23/03/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Caton23/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Bill Etherington23/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir23/03/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Derek Wyatt23/03/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Linda Riordan23/03/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Janet Anderson24/03/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Andrew George24/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke24/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
John Austin25/03/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Marsha Singh29/03/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
John Hemming29/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady06/04/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.