Parliament Website

Campaign For The Restoration Of Varosha

EDM number 1123 in 2009-10, proposed by Edward O'Hara on 17/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Elections and Western Europe.

That this House recalls the continued interest of hon. Members on all sides of the House in this and previous Parliaments in the neglect and dereliction of Varosha, the sealed-off section of Famagusta; notes the more recent interest of the European Parliament in this situation through a visit to the area by its Petitions Committee which concluded among other things that with the return of Varosha to its original and lawful inhabitants it could become a laboratory of development and a symbol of the future of Cyprus; concurs with this judgement; believes also that the project of reconstructing and regenerating Varosha would deliver an unparalleled stimulus to the economy in the north as well as in the south of Cyprus; further believes that this would build the confidence which would underpin the successful future of a reunited Cyprus; and calls on the Government through all means available to it to promote and support such an initiative.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Edward O'Hara17/03/2010Knowsley SouthLabourProposed
Ann Cryer18/03/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley18/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn18/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones18/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Alan Meale18/03/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis18/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jim McGovern22/03/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Robert Wareing22/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock22/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn22/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Durkan22/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Lepper22/03/2010Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Bill Etherington23/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams23/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Janet Anderson24/03/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Marsha Singh29/03/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
John Hemming29/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady06/04/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.